We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That homely feel at Homlwood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holmwood Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holmwood Guesthouse to your Saves list
Holmwood Guesthouse
37 Chapel Street | (cnr Steele St), Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“That homely feel at Homlwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My family stayed in the Seaside Suite which is cozy and warm with great natural light. It was ideal for a night in or close enough to the main street or a walk on the beach. We recommend Holmwood as the perfect place to stay on Phillip Island.

Room Tip: Seaside Suite is perfect for a small family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Phil

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our Seaside studio. What great May weather you had! Having three bedrooms the Studio is perfect for families or friends who want a bit of privacy and for those on a budget who are not looking for the luxury offered in the guesthouse and cottages. Many visitors tell us that what they enjoy most about the studio is being able to stay in and cook a meal especially if they have been travelling for a while and eating out constantly.

Hope we see you and your family again soon.

Jill and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
38
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Towards the end of our Australian trip we spent two nights here and it was an unexpected treat. Both Jill and her accomplice Bridget made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Rooms have been designed with great taste. Immaculate decor with interesting books to read and classical music playing in the guest lounge to create an aura of quality relaxation. Highly recommend the local Japanese restaurant Youki even if you are not so keen on raw fish. Madcowes cafe great for lunch/coffee.

Room Tip: In the house all three rooms are spacious and delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Brigid was very chuffed to be mentioned in your review. One of the great things about Holmwood is our people. Jude, Brigid and Sonya are all so passionate about Holmwood and making sure guest have a great time. As you noted nothing is too much trouble for them whether its cooking someone a late arrival snack because the restaurants are closed, pouring a complimentary wine, making a cuppa, doing a load of washing - their focus is on making each guest's stay a memorable one.

So reviews like yours mean a lot to us all. Thank you and hope you are now back home safely.

Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Beautiful guest house in a great location! We loved the homemade biscuits ... the perfect accompaniment to our morning cup of tea. The breakfast was also lovely with a great selection on offer including freshly squeezed orange juice. I would recommend Holmwood to anyone who is looking for a perfect place to stay in Cowes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Holmwood is an older property which has been completely renovated by Jill, creating a homely cottage feel outside and newly appointed to high standards within. Decor is lively and very comfortable. You do indeed feel as though you are a guest in the house. You can spread yourself out onto the garden, the verandahs, the lounge room, and the morning room which has indoor and outdoor dining areas.
My friend and I, both country born, did just that- even taking photos of ourselves in pyjamas on the front verandah early one morning.
Home made marmalade is always a hit with me, and there was a big bottle of it waiting by the toaster at breakfast. Our every dietetic need was met and each query garnered such good advice that we actually did everything we were told.
The one problem was that we couldn't find time in our itinerary to stay longer. Many thanks to Jill and Judy for their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed for 1 night in March in one of the 2 cottages. Decor and lighting was great, cheery, and comfortable. Each cottage has a private front porch and it's own gate which was a nice touch. Super clean and well laid out. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Spa Cottages are quiet and well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Our family took most of the accommodation available for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.
Well located, clean, comfortable
and very attractive accommodation.
Jill could not have been more helpful, advising us on the best set up for our family with couples, babies etc. Also great advice on where to go and to eat etc.
Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Jill even held my baby while I ate!
We enjoyed using the comfortable lounge area as a family and really felt it was a lovely welcoming home.
Could not recommend a place more wholeheartedly. We would love to stay again and for longer. So much to do on Phillip Island!
Thanks again for everything you did to make our trip so special.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmwood, Owner at Holmwood Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Hi Ami

What a great family you are. Three generations away together and what proud grandparents! It was lovely to be able to look after you all a little bit. Holmwood is at its best when it is filled with people who know each other. Its lovely to see families using the guest lounge and cafe, particularly in the cooler weather when the fire is lit.

Good luck with your new venture.

Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed at Holmwood, in the Coastal Cottage, for 5 nights from 12th March 2014. It was wonderful, the cottage was beautifully decorated, clean and very welcoming. The home cooked breakfasts were very tasty and filling. A very big thank you to both Jill and Judith, staying at the Holmwood added to our wonderful trip in Cowes for Brigid and Chris's wedding. Hope to see you all again in the not too distant future. We highly recommend the very friendly and beautiful Holmwood Guesthouse.
Maureen & Tom, Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holmwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmwood Guesthouse

Address: 37 Chapel Street | (cnr Steele St), Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a cottage garden in a quiet tree lined street, Holmwood Guesthouse is the perfect place to pause and explore the natural attractions of Phillip Island, offering a choice of Bed & Breakfast accommodation or self-contained Spa Cottages, less than two hours drive from Melbourne.Holmwood Guesthouse is a stylish boutique retreat with three elegantly appointed rooms and two luxurious self-contained Spa Cottages, all just a five minute stroll from the Cowes main swimming beach, cafes and shops and just a fifteen minute drive to the Penguin Parade, Moto Grand Prix Circuit, spectacular coastal walks and wineries. All accommodation options have ensuite bathrooms, television, heating/cooling, complimentary wi-fi and the Spa Cottages also have private courtyard gardens, verandahs, barbeques and wood fires in winter. Depending on the season, breakfast (included in the Guesthouse rooms tariff, or as an extra for our Spa Cottage guests) is served in the dining room near the open fire or on the sun deck. We are licensed, so drinks and local wines are available and for group bookings a special dinner menu can be arranged for a private dining experience. The menu is prepared fresh daily according to availability of produce and guests' preferences.Holmwood Guesthouse is suitable for couples, small families and groups up to 10-14. For travellers on a self paced, round-Australia driving holiday, Holmwood is an ideal place to stay a while, unwind, be pampered or left alone, catch up with the washing and take time to truly experience the unique attractions of Phillip Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holmwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmwood Guesthouse Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holmwood Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.