We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seahorse Motel to your Saves list
Seahorse Motel
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed at this motel for a night when we were in cowes to see the penguin parade. I can only agree with the other reviewers. This is a very friendly and exceptionally clean motel in a good location. The owners were really helpful on hints on what to see in the area. Local knowledge is always a great help and appreciated. The rooms are comfortable, well equipped and of a good size. We are doing a road trip of Victoria and this is the cleanest motel we have stayed in. The outside is well kept with a lovely play area for children. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
45
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Had a 4 nite stay here after checking out from another hotel on the island,
The Staff could not have been more helpfull and friendly.
The rooms (I had 2 different) were recently renovated, nice and clean, comfy. Outside facilites were great for familys, play ground and bbq facilites.
Close to the town centre and beach only a short walk away.
Would definatly tell people to stay here if they want a good honest motel.
Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is an excellent small motel. Most of the rooms have been updated and are clean and modern with comfortable beds.

The outside of the motel and rooms is reasonably dated and you would easily opt for one of the more fancier places in town.

I have stayed here twice now and will definitely be coming back. What makes it for me is the outstanding attention to detail and customer service of the owner / managers.

Value for money 10/10

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms down the back. Updated and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Motel is like a Travel Inn (UK) in that it is clean and spacious and an ideal place for getting your head down after a day of exploring the island. However what really stood out were the wonderful staff. They went above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Quiet location in easy walking distance to main street, supermarkets, beach and restaurants. We had a very spacious 2 brm self contained unit, each double bedroom with its own ensuite. Large living area with extra single bed. As we only stayed one night we didn't cook any meals but appeared to be reasonably equipped. Our unit the living area was quite dark even on a sunny day. Friendly and informative staff

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The staff were friendly and informative. We had a very large room; a queen and single bed, kitchenette, table chairs, etc. It seems to have been recently refurbished /decorated and therefore provided a good standard of accommodation, reasonable value for money. The free WiFi link was relatively fast. Good location for access to restaurants. Only downside was noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Seahorse motel. We had a queen and a single bed in a very large room, a large and comfortable couch, table and chairs. Flat screen TV and DVD player. A toaster, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities were also provided ( biscuits included). The host was very friendly and helpful. The motel is a about a 10 min walk to restaurants and shops. It is however uphill if walking is a problem. I would certainly recommend this Motel and the tariff is reasonable too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seahorse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Motel

Address: 29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seahorse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Hotel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.