We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Seahorse Motel to your Saves list
Seahorse Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Visited for two nights in September with some friends. Quiet location within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Very friendly hosts who were happy to assist with dinner arrangements. Rooms need a bit of an update and did smell strongly of air freshener. Nice outdoor sitting area where we enjoyed happy hour.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

staff friendly and helpful ..location was adjacent to beach and al;l services..all appliances worked and the tv had a number of cable channells....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melborne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The First Impression: We had booked a deluxe suite on a last minute decision to go to Phillip Island for Easter. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful lady named Olga (the owner) who went out of her way to ensure our push bikes were securely stored.

The Suite: We entered the room and were pleasantly surprised at the spaciousness of the suite - which could very comfortably accommodate a small family. We certainly believe it has earnt its 4-star rating and have stayed at 4-star accommodation that was inferior. The room was clean and well presented with a large bathroom and a great shower with comfortable water pressure.

The Location: Located 7 minutes walk from the Hotel on Philllip Island (which is on the Esplanade) and very close to the jetty, we enjoyed being able to comfortably walk home to a quiet setting after spending a lovely eving in the middle of Cowes.

The Icing On The Cake: After the ferry was cancelled due to inclement weather, Brendon (the owner) kindly allowed us to leave our luggage at the reception area whilst we awaited a later ferry. This was yet another example of the genuinely friendly, laidback and helpful attitude of all of the staff we encountered during our stay.

We look forward to going back and would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to Cowes.

Thank you for an awesome stay!

Room Tip: Go for the deluxe suites (we cannot comment on the other room types)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were told this was the luxury room (4 star) at Tourist Info and paid a bit extra for it.

Very disappointed with TI and will stick to Internet reviews in future. Very poor value motel room. I was greeted with less than welcome string of do's and don'ts. The extremely large room was filled with.... mostly unnecessary and unused/ unusable open space, (TV must be at least 3 metres from the bed and even further from small sofa in room), DVD player - in the wardrobe and not connected! Tiny window looking over next door building and very limited opening. This made the fact that the whole room was filled with a most unpleasant and strange odour of what we assumed to be (hoped) air freshener or some sort of carpet freshener even worse, as it couldn't be shifted. It was over powering all night. The sound proofing between this room and the room below was abysmal, we could hear conversations, tv and even mobile phone buzzing. No milk in the fridge when we arrived, unmatched wine glasses not properly clean and for some reason in the fridge. Decor bland and furnishings lacking. The room was pretty clean, but dusting could have been better. The very large bed was comfy, although blanket rather than a quilt. No wifi in the room only the use of PC in reception which was $3 for 15 mins!!!

All in all this room was only just as good as you would expect from a chain motel. It is not 4 star and very over priced. If we had paid considerably less we wouldn't have been so unhappy, but compared with all other places that we have stayed in the last few weeks while travelling in Australia, with one notable exception, this was definitely the worst and poorest value. We actually felt like we were being taken advantage of and I have to say in spite of the other reviews I would not recommend staying here, or if you do stay away form the so called 4 star rooms.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the so called luxury/ 4 star rooms at extra cost, I can only assume the cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Boga, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Saturday night is always hard to get good accomodation on the island , we had been to a few properties on the island over the years but not the Seahorse and where pleasantly surprised . The clean refurbished rooms are well appointed , the exterior is well presented with organised parking in front of the room , we heard no road noise and spent a quite night . It is in a good position walking distance to the beach/main shopping area , a few small points stopped me from giving it a 5 , mainly a uncomfortable double [not queen] bed and the reception staff that assumed I could not read the numerous signs in the room by telling me "NO SMOKING" [we don't smoke anyway] in the room but no other real information or pleasantries .

Room Tip: Try the Big Fat Greek restaurant at nearby Rhyll it is more relaxing than Cowes restaurants and off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed one night, it was very clean and comfortable. Only simple but excellent value for the price. We had no problems and would stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed just one night here, in a double ensuite.
Upon entering the room it absolutely stank of air freshner - ridiculous quantities. We could hardly breathe. We opened all the windows, but so much had been sprayed it was overpowering and made us feel ill. We could still smell it when we left the next morning. Maybe the cleaner had an accident with some air freshner, but we worried whether such a large quantity had been used to mask some other bad smell. We complained to reception, who were very unhelpful.
We did have a quiet night's sleep though so maybe the place is great and we were unlucky. Hard to tell from our limited (and not very positive) experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#2 of 11 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#8 of 11 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Comfort Resort Kaloha
#5 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tropicana Motor Inn
Tropicana Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Motel

Address: 29-31 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seahorse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seahorse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Hotel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Cowes
Seahorse Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.