We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very OK for Phillip Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coachman Motel to your Saves list
Coachman Motel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
roma
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very OK for Phillip Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We spent just 1 night in this motel but we had a very good impression of it. Location is perfect, just 2 minutes walking distances from Cowes main intersection with shops and restaurants. It is an excellent base for visiting the various attractions of Phillip Island. The rooms are wide has everything you usually need, beds are confortable. There is even a small pool. The owners are very helpful and nice (one of them even Italian-speaking!).
We enjoyed Phillip Island, just one thing: be careful the Penguin parade is presented like a TV-show rather than a nature phenomenon. The penguins are forecast to appear at .. 21:07 .. and they do! All people watching (and freezing) like in a theater. Good for kids, although penguins are so beatiful... there are many other things to do in Phillip Island though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    22
    11
    9
See reviews for
40
34
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Very nice relaxing motel. Excellent location, friendly staff. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. It had heated electrical blanket! The AC was quiet. It had VCR and DVR players and videos at the reception.
Nothing luxury but the room had microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle - all you need for comfortable and budgetary stay. We arrived to the motel right after hiking a long trail and asked about the spa. It was turned especially for us and in 15 minutes we enjoyed the outdoor spa.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10. Rooms 9-12 are on the first floor, each has separate small verandas with small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Fresh paint, great beds, new TV (no reception!!), great location, disgusting stove top, ripped sofa - disappointing but for the beds!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Nice enough motel with friendly staff in great location. Typical motel so don't expect much. Clean, comfortable and excellent wifi. Not a destination but you get what this motel claims it is.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was the second time I had stayed here as it was impossible to get accomodation anywhere else as we were travelling in a peak period.

During my first stay in 2010, I was warned by my friends about the rude owners who gave them a lecture upon arrival, the second night we were all relaxing in the spa in the afternoon and one of the owners walked out and turned it off on us, but we did still have a good weekend.

Second stay, was a nightmare. Our queen bed was broken, one of the wheels had actually broken off and so the bed tilted when you tried to sleep on it, the couch was falling apart and had rips all down one cushion. The old woman stuck her head into our room at about 11pm to see what we were doing, (We were just watching the footy and one of us was sitting outside having a smoke) So I requested a new room for the last night where only 2 ppl were staying, so we got moved to a standard room, the freezer didnt work, no cooking facilities, shower curtain that stuck to you - it was really lucky we are easy going people who have fun regardless. I dont recommend you stay here, I payed 285 a night for that crap! not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the property for one night during our visit Phillip Island, the property is very conveniently located from penguin parade, esplanade and lost of nice places to eat and warm breakfast around the corner.

We arrived to hotel around 4:30 PM and it took us couple of minutes to pick the keys, the reception was quite welcoming and efficient.

Our unit had 2 very nicely furnished bedrooms, living area, dining and small kitchen and a nice size bathroom with shower. The beds and linen were clean and comfy. The living area had a good size TV, DVD player, and DVD's were provided by reception. Kids just loved the place and so do the adults after a sound good night sleep.

We would love to come back to Coachman Motel again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

This seventies style motel is located in a quiet street, close to all the shops and attractions in Cowes. We booked over the internet arriving to find that mysteriously our booking had disappeared into the ether. However the owners, Josef and Robin gave us another unit at a reasonable price.
The unit was spotless and well equipped. We slept well, in comfortable beds. A problem with the window was quickly rectified by Josef.

Room Tip: Telephone the motel to confirm your internet booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coachman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Motel

Address: 51 Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coachman Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
200 Meters to safe beach, shops,& restaurants Penguin Parade 10 mins drive. Quiet family motel Solar heated outdoor swimming pool, heated outdoor spa,BBQ area Guest laundry. Free WIFI to all rooms and units ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coachman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Phillip Island
Coachman Motel Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.