We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Waves Apartments to your Saves list
The Waves Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1 The Esplanade | P.O. Box 108, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
victoria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The layout is strange, you walk in and that is where the bunk beds are and also the kitchen, you walk down a corridor and the bathroom with spa is on the left and then you come out to tha mian room and that has the lounge room and balcony with great views Now the only door you can close is a sliding door after you leave the kids/kitchen area. Can you see the problem? If you have kids and shut the door they are shut away in the kitchen area. I was worried about my kid turning the stove on but no he decided to raid the fridge and I didnt hear a thing. ( it was also hard to hear what they were up too even with the door open) also the entrance door hasnt got a lock on the inside, so the kids could easily walk out the door. Also the sliding door out to the balcony didnt have a safety strip on it and yep you guess it, my kid walk straight into the door, the windows are spotless and it was hard to tell if it was open or shut.
Okay but there are many lovely things about the place, the cleaning staff where so friendly. It has a nice spa. They also provide a very basic breakfast eg cereal, milk and juice it was a nice surpise. It has a great playground across the road. All it needs is a nice cafe.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    69
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed in a deluxe room for one night.

The room was large and clean, with a good view of the ocean.

Location wise, it was within walking distance of everything in Cowes, without being too close to the hustle of the shops and restaurants.

However, the parking wasn't really the best. Residents have a choice of 2 equally- dingy parking lots that lead to a single lift lobby. If you have a lot of luggage, you will find yourself struggling here.

Also, for a hotel/motel of this quality, this place is way overpriced. We paid about 30% more than any other place of similar quality which we stayed in while on our trip, with no appreciable benefits for the extra money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

These apartments are in a great location with a fantastic kids park overlooking the beach across the road you will have everything you need to ensure you have a great holiday. We had a fabulous view from our apartment on the third floor (there is a lift) the apartment was clean, comfortable with a huge spa bath. The other bonus for this accommodation is that it is only a short walk to Cowes where many restaurants and shops can be found.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

I have initially book only 1 night but have extended one more night. The nice reception lady have extended for us using their promotion package. The room is visibility newly renovated thus it is clean, stylish design with nice photograph pictures. The bed is comfortable except the pillow is too flat for my liking. There is a spa tub in the toilet (I have stayed in their Executive Suite) but a little disappointed with the tub as only 1 jet is powerful, the rest of the 3 don't seems to be in good working condition. There is free parking and a secure parking area for the guest. The room is big and we have a excellent sea view from the room. Location is convenient and pretty much central to most of the local sight seeing location.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The receptionist was very knowledgeable and helpful. The location of the apartments was great; right on the sea front. The apartments were very roomy and had everything you needed including free complimentary breakfast goodies. Everything was exceptionally clean. A really wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Good location with views overlooking the beach. Our first floor room was clean and spacious.Food for a continental type breakfast was available. Reception was efficient, but the receptionist was busy and by herself, and had no time to provide information about the local area. The Waves is a short walk to the centre of Cowes and all the local facilities. We found our one night stay to be most relaxing after our first driving experience in Australia from Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

My parents had a wonderful experience at The Waves. The staff was friendly, they were able to check in early as the room was available, and even had an upgrade.
The location is fantasic, with great views and convenient for going for a walk and to eat.
The quality of the rooms are fabulous, and definitely a good experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waves Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves Apartments

Address: No. 1 The Esplanade | P.O. Box 108, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waves Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Waves Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
Waves Apartments Cowes
Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
The Waves Apartments Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.