We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Waves Apartments to your Saves list
The Waves Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1 The Esplanade | P.O. Box 108, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We booked at the last minute. No rooms were available on line so phoned direct as we had stayed there a few times before. We were lucky (loyalty pays) and got an 'unserviced' room for two nights (Sunday & Monday) about $60 less than usual. The apartment had two bedrooms, bathroom, kitchenette, balcony and a sea view. The kitchenette was fully equipped and had a full size fridge, microwave and two ring stove. This room also had a double bunk, a single bed, small TV, table and chairs and a separate heater. The room was a bit 'basic' but would have been OK for children. The main bedroom was very spacious with two couches, large coffee table, desk area, large TV and a balcony. The queen size bed was very comfortable, great pillows too.Overall it was very good, even if a little expensive for what you got - but the sea view was delightful.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room on the second floor. If you have to spend a bit of time in the unit you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    71
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
60
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here with friends for the weekend, great location and great room (Beachside Premium, no sea view). Despite the weather being not too great this place and its location still kept us entertained. Rooms are large and balcony bigger than expected. The lady at reception was very welcoming when we arrived, a nice change to many other places we have been.

Only 2 things to fault 1. The mattresses on the bunk beds, they are terrible (very hard and the other you could feel the springs) 2. The bathroom towels were very old and felt more like paper towel!

Some suggestions to the Owners/Manager - the place needs to be livened up a bit, the interior of the room is quite bland, no colours, dark coloured wall pictures, no pot plants on the balcony, just doesn't feel beach like and it should considering the location.

Will definitely return in better weather as I can only imagine this place and its location will come alive once the sun shines.

Room Tip: During the better weather pay a bit extra for the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne - Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We had a great room with a waterfront view. Kitchenette was well equipped and all you need, very spacious in the main part of the room with enough chairs/lounges to sit and enjoy the view, bathroom also very spacious, found the reception staff very friendly and helpful, a great place to spend a weekend

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Even though we spend just a night there but it was awesome.The reception staff was so polite in answering our questions.Apartment was bright and clean,there is a fully equipped kitchen for us to do some light cooking,there's even a jacuzzi bathtub to soak away the fatigue.There's a private carpark at basement meant for guests.Location was the best part,overlooking the sea,walk downhearted street and there are restaurants and supermart.Just a 10mins drive and you with reach the famous Penguin parade,I look forward to staying there again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Gippsland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were on an extended holiday and decided to call in to the Island for a couple of nights before finally heading home. Well we couldn't have got worse weather - but we decided if we were going to stay then we needed a room that would overlook the stormy seas!! We'd seen this place on wotif with some great last minute deals, then when we walked in the receptionist offered us an even better deal than the one on wotif for our two night stay. We stayed on the floor second from the top and the view was fabulous! The howling wind, the belting rain, the raging seas.. just stunning! But we were very warm and cosy in our spacious room.

The furniture was all modern and the artwork on the walls was fabulous. The bathroom had a spa, which was terrific too. Loved that it was self-contained with a full sized fridge and cooking facilities, even though we didn't do any cooking.

The secure undercover parking was an asset too, especially as it let us unpack and pack our car without getting wet. Would definitely recommend this place, and could imagine the view from our room would be just as amazing during the warmer months too.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with an ocean view. And ask for any specials they may have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Rooms very big and stayed on a high floor with 2 single beds and spa and a queen bed. Our view was if the back of the hotel which we could see the ocean from outside I didn't mind the view at it's winter. Staff very friendly and bathroom very big. Only issue was we went to use some pots and pans and they where dirty from the past guest. The toilet holder was coming off and water kinda leaked from the door when you had a shower but over all not bad.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed here for a week and absolutely loved it.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment but it felt like two because there were two living areas and both has heating (thank goodness because it was freezing outside!).

The place has cooking facilities and a great spa my kids loved.

We will definitely be back.

Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#1 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Comfort Resort Kaloha
#5 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
9.6 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#2 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves Apartments

Address: No. 1 The Esplanade | P.O. Box 108, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cowes
#4 Family Hotel in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Waves Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Waves Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
Waves Apartments Cowes
Waves Apartments Hotel Cowes
The Waves Apartments Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.