We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Isla House

Save Saved
You added Glen Isla House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glen Isla House
230 Church St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WiFi
Ranked #1 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed in the Anderson Suite, which is very special! Great attention to detail and surprise and delight features which I won't elaborate on - you'll have to stay there to find out! Many thanks Madeleine for a wonderful stay, for the lift to the restaurant and for the rose cuttings! Terrific breakfast Ian!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
72
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had a whirl wind 24 hour stay at Philip Island which was not enough by the way! Glen Isla was fantastic! The grounds are beautiful and the room was clean and very nicely decorated. We had a fantastic night's sleep and were treated to the most amazing breakfast! Everything was delicious and very carefully planned to make it a wonderful meal! They know how to focus on all the small details that make this hotel exceptional. Their recommendation for dinner at Infusion was perfect! We can not imagine staying anywhere else on Philip Island after this experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Only good things to say about Glen Isle. Impeccable. Very nicely appointed rooms. Every convenience needed and owners are so attentive to all guests. Breakfast area very pleasant and breakfast served late with no pressure to rush which is such a change from so many other places.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

From the moment we arrived Ian and Madeline made us feel incredibly special at this amazing B&B. We were looking for peace and tranquility but also proximity to the beach and restaurants at Cowes. This was perfect. We managed to relax immediately for the three days we spent there, our favourite experience was sitting in the courtyard among the beautiful gardens enjoying wine and cheese in the sun. The hosts were friendly and hospitable without being intrusive. The use of provincial french design and decor of the rooms and dining room was delightful and the chef cooked relaxing breakfast experience set the tone for each day. i would recommend this place to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toorak, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

What a brilliant find! Glen Isla has everything - beautiful rooms, amazing breakfasts (the best!), stunning and tranquil gardens that you can't help but relax in, and a short walk to the beach and nearby shops and restaurants. Staying here feels like stepping into another world. We loved the long lazy breakfasts and sunny afternoons in the gardens. We left feeling so relaxed and refreshed from a truly wonderful stay!

Thank you to Ian and Madeleine for their warm and friendly hospitality. We can't wait to come back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

Thank you so much Madeline and Ian - We enjoyed every minute of our stay in the Gate Cottage. Perfect for couples or extended families. We loved the space and privacy of the cottage and felt at home right away. The cottage was completely self contained, sparking clean and we felt like we were the only ones on the property. The beach is so close (literally a minute walk) and even though the weather was ordinary we had a great time going for long walks and exploring. We really appreciated Madeline's advice about where to visit on the Island and the genuine hospitality and warmth at Glen Isla House. I have a feeling we'll be back to escape the bustle of Melbourne very soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We arrived in the late afternoon on a cold and very wet day in November. Madeline greeted us warmly and invited us into the lounge for coffee and a delicious home made muffin. She had put the heater on to warm our room and gave us advice about seeing the penguin parade and offered to lend us coats for protection from the inclement weather. She also gave us advice about eating that evening telling us of the restaurant that will let you have your main course and return after the parade for your sweet course. The rooms were large and well appointed with complimentary port and bathrobes. The bathroom was large with an array of toiletries. The breakfast the next morning was of the highest quality with fresh fruit, home made preserves, cereals and yoghurt followed by a cooked breakfast made by Madelene's son who is a fully trained chef.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Isla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Isla House

Address: 230 Church St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning boutique country-house accommodations offering discerning travellers finest surroundings, absolute privacy and unobtrusive service from internationally experienced and well traveled owners. Set in the grounds of the historic Glen Isla Homestead (c1870), we offer genuine historic and purpose architected guest accommodations all with modern bathroom amenities and separate entrances, secluded and very private heritage gardens, refined elegance & old-world charm just 100m from a pristine sandy beach. Enjoy chef-inspired special breakfasts in the elegant dining room, and local nature/wildlife experiences (close to Penguins and Koalas). Highly recommended Frommers Australia Guide as the best place to stay. Recommended Fodors, and Lonely Planet Guides since 2007. Member of Small Elegant Hotels since 2004. Tripadvisor excellence awards 2011, 2012 & 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Glen Isla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Isla House Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Isla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.