We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic night away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Isla House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Isla House to your Saves list
Glen Isla House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   230 Church St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Get Best Deal
Ranked #1 of 10 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic night away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My huband and I travelled to Phillip Island for a one-night get-away from Melbourne. Glen Isla House was exactly the B&B I had hoped for - and more. The grounds themselves are beautiful and the room itself very private and very clean. You literally feel like you could be on a historic country estate somewhere remote - but yet you can access the beach and walk to town in minutes. Maddie's hospitality was remarkable - she took the time to explain to us newcomers the sites to see on the island, how to get around nearby Cowes, restaurant recommendations and everything we would need to have a great weekend. This is the type of place we will most definitely return to based on the quality of the accommodation and the professionalism and personal attention of the hosts. We highly recommend this B&B for like-minded travellers who appreciate the quality and hospitality that a place like this offers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for your positive review of heritage property Glen Isla...
Our philosophy over the past 10 years has always been to offer genuine hospitality, rather than just accommodation.
We've travelled extensively around the world over menay years, and its the properties & hosts that offer local knowledge, advice on things to see and do (genuine hospitality) that we remember fondly and return to!
We would welcome your return to stay with us again here at Glen Isla House and hope to see you again soon...

Ian and Madeleine - Owners & Hosts, Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
110
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We could not have been happier with our stay at Glen Isla. Ian and Madeleine were so attentive, welcoming us and giving us heaps of advice about the local area. We stayed in the Anderson Cottage which was a wonderful mix of old charm and mod-cons, and completely separate from the other quarters so also with a very private feeling. The breakfast the next morning was delicious, Ian did a great job with some of the local produce. We also made a new best friend in Nancy, their dog... She was so sweet and a very surprising addition to what was a very enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend staying here, and would not hesitate in going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This place turned out to be one of our favorites on our trip to Australia. We stayed in the Anderson suite, a separate cottage which was delightfully charming. For starters, Ian and Madeleine were incredible hosts and welcomed my partner and I for our brief visit most warmly. Treats and champagne were provided in our cottage, and they gave us great recommendations on places to visit and things to see throughout the town, which were easily accessible. The cottage was tastefully decorated and preserved its historic period nicely, complete with refined yet modern conveniences. The grounds were gated and felt secure, coupled with charming courtyard and an easy short path to the beach, as well. We wished we could have stayed an extra night. The gas fireplace adds extra charm, and the cottage features a modern AC/heater unit if needed, plus a refrigerator. Restaurants in the area close early, and sometimes, without advanced notice, so be sure to consider your dining options in advance (of which Ian and Madeleine are happy to make recommendations). I would definitely recommend this place for a quality experience accompanied by refined hosts. The Penguin March is nearby (pay the extra funds for the Ultimate Ticket, which will separate you from the crowds) as well as the Koala Bear conservation center and the Heritage Farm. A great way to experience Phillip Island.

Room Tip: The cottage, while a bit more in price, is worth the extra costs to enhance your experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is more than just a B&B! Enter the gates of Glen Isla on Philip Island; you enter your own retreat. There is nothing like this anywhere else on Philip Island. For the couples looking for quality, character, hospitality and excellence ~ this estate is tranquil, but only 100 meters from the beach, accessed through a private walkway, and 2 minutes from Cowes centre. I see international travellers stay at Glen Isla – but this place should be booked by Victorian couples where they look for a retreat to re-charge. Chefs in the kitchen for breakfast use local fresh produce and every dietary requirement catered for.
We have stayed in many B&B’s and Luxury Small Hotels in Australia – as we travel locally. This is a star (and I would only rate Bloomfield in Queensland at the same level).

Kerry and Christine Gore - Melbourne

Room Tip: If you book the top selection (for just a small increase in price), it will not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Kerry and Christine...

Thank you so mush for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Glen Isla House...

Its gratifying to receive reviews such as yours. We seem to have managed to delight guests for 10 years now, and comments such as yours are very pleasing indeed to both Madeleine and I.

We have the opportunity to welcome many guests to our historic property, and over the years we've met some most interesting guests from all over the world, and our underlying principle has always been that we offer 'hospitality' as we would hope to receive when we travel - not just a room and breakfast!

Since we've had the opportunity to travel extensively and experience great hospitality and accommodations, we have aspired since opening Glen Isla House to offer world-class hospitality here at Glen Isla and your feedback greatly encourages us to continue with that quest...

We hope to welcome you back to Glen Isla again.

Ian & Madeleine - Owners and Hosts - Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Glen Isla is a wonderful place to stay. It is comfortable, breakfast is terrific, service is great and thier dog is just about the friendliest that I've ever met. All this and it is reasonably priced. What more can one ask for? If we ever revisit Philip Island we will look no further.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle this is the place to visit.
My partner and I have travelled many places near and far but have never been greeted and welcomed in such a way, felt like a home away from home.
The owners are as gorgeous as the place itself. Welcoming, warm and inviting. The food the Chef creates is all from local produce which is amazingly fresh, the Chef brings out gorgeous flavors in the food he creates, who would have thought breakfast would be so tasty. Please ask about the history of the property, every inch of the property has a story, from the trees to the paintings on the walls, fascinating! Enjoy a good story, as I did. This place is quite, romantic and relaxing. After breakfast me and my partner went for a walk down the beach, quite secluded in this particular area and only a 3 min walk. It was also nice to see all age groups staying here, both older and younger couples. Thank you for your hospitality this weekend Ian and Madeline, we will definitely be back. Regards, C & R.

Room Tip: They are all great and consistent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen_Isla_House, Owner at Glen Isla House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Well, thank you for the review and very kind words...

With an authentic history dating back to the late 1800's and surrounding heritage gardens, Glen Isla certainly offers something a little bit different in terms of accommodations and surrounds.

Add in some personal hospitality, a breakfast experience under-pinned with local ingredients where possible (some from our own organic garden on the property), and a chef who is a passionate foodie, an elegant fine-dining restaurant-style dining room, and as as you say - its 'serenity and history' at its best!

We hope to see you again here at Glen Isla House...

Ian & Madeleine - Owners and Hosts - Glen Isla House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Glen Isla House this weekend. After a warm, personal welcome, some local information and suggestions as to where to eat dinner, we were taken to our lovely room. Next morning was a breakfast living up to Chef Ian's promise, fresh fruits and local yoghurt and a cooked to order breakfast served by Ian's hospitable wife. FAbulous gardens and a shoert walk to the beach. A perfect night's stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. If you have 2 nights, try the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#2 of 11 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holmwood Guesthouse
Holmwood Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seas The Day B&B
Seas The Day B&B
#1 of 4 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cliff Top Boutique Accommodation
1.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
1.2 mi away
Genesta House
Genesta House
#3 of 10 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Isla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Isla House

Address: 230 Church St, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Isla House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award-winning boutique country-house accommodations offering discerning travellers finest surroundings, absolute privacy and unobtrusive service from internationally experienced and well traveled owner/hosts. Set in the grounds of the historic Glen Isla Homestead (c1870), we offer genuine historic and purpose architected guest accommodations all with modern bathroom amenities and separate entrances, secluded and very private heritage gardens, refined elegance & old-world charm just 100m from a pristine sandy beach. Enjoy chef-inspired special breakfasts in the elegant dining room overlooking the authentic heritage gardens, and local nature/wildlife experiences at Phillip Island Nature Parks (close to Little Penguins, Koalas and the Seal Cruise). Highly recommended Frommers Australia Guide as the best place to stay. Recommended Fodors, and Lonely Planet Guides since 2007. Member of Small Elegant Hotels since 2004. TripAdvisor HALL of FAME inductee 2015 for TriAdvisor excellence awards 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 & 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Glen Isla House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Isla House Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Isla House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.