We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a pretty sight!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Continental Hotel Phillip Island to your Saves list
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not a pretty sight!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was obviously once a very good hotel but time has left it well behind. It can be restored to presumably former glories but it will take an awful lot of Aussie Dollars to bring The Continental up to the standard expected by the modern traveller. This is a very tired establishment but what makes it so very disappointing is the fact that they are charging Top Dollar for mediocrity. Simply not good enough. My recommendation is simply stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thankyou for your review. The hotel itself was officially opened in 1976, we are currently undergoing renovations throughout the hotel, but as this is a destination in high demand particularly for accommodation and we are still in high season - we are limited in the amount of work we can undertake at any one time without causing disruption to Hotel operations. With that in mind, our location is one of very few in Cowes with absolute water frontage and despite your thoughts our prices are extremely affordable against our competitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    43
    30
    46
See reviews for
34
65
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had booked a oceanview standard room for one night. Despite previously reading poor reviews, I still chose to book this hotel with an open mind.
Our oceanview room had perhaps 20% view of the ocean and 80% view of a large bushy tree. I couldnt bathe my daughter due to the mould around the bath. The whole place feels incredibly old and cheap, but we paid $240 for ONE night.
On returning at night from the penguin parade, there was nowhere in the hotel carpark to park my car, so I was forced to park on the street in front of the hotel and carry my two sleeping children all the way to and up the stairs to our room. (No lifts).
The door to the room felt very flimsy and blew and shook with the wind. I felt quite unsafe sleeping there with such a poor locking mechanism.
Upon going upstairs to eat the included continental breakfast, I has to hold my 11 month old daughter on my lap as I tried to eat as the hotel only owns TWO high chairs.
Once someone had finished with one, it was bought to my table. It was very sticky and I saw food still stuck to it which is disgusting.
To top it off, I bought these matters to the attention of the receptionist on check out, but she seemed quite disinterested. So, I then emailed my concerns to the hotel itself. Three days later, I am yet to receive a reply.
Do yourself and your family a favour and book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Number one , don't book here. If you must book here, ask for a room with a view of the ocean, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thankyou for your feedback, I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in staying with us. Regarding you complaint email we are yet to receive this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cross Victoria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Where do I start! This was the worst place I have ever stayed at. We paid $210 a night for a room that was just plain terrible. The apartment consisted of a lounge room that contained a sofa bed, you couldn't sit on it because it was to uncomfortable. T o watch the big old TV (digital top box on the top of it) we had to sit on the two hard chairs from the table. The bed was OK once we got to sleep, as there were apartments out the back (nothing to do with the hotel) that heaps of noise was coming from. Breakfast in the morning was included - continental - They would be better off not to provide the tray of stras/ham and cheese squares - no one I witnessed was confident in trying any. The hotel itself is in a prime location, but very very tired and dated. I am sure the staff would receive continuous negative feedback - It appears it is not being managed at all - all staff had all various types of dress on - no one in any sort of uniform - in the height of the tourist season. This hotel probably needs to be shut down for 6 months in the winter and revamped, and new management. We were extremely disappointed, and it is a shame that a hotel like that can wreck tourism for the Island. We wont be back!

Room Tip: My tip is do not accept a garden view room - Guest I spoke to also commented on how terrible the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over New Years with a couple of friends after being told we were to young to stay in the seahorse motel! Best decision ever made! Perfect location although rooms where probably not good value for money they were still okay for the night. Took us 2 min to walk to the main shops and beach not even. Got free continental breakfast in the morning. Beds where comfy fridge shower and bathroom plus little seating areas was all included. Don't go in having high expectations but was definitely surprised at how much better it looked than the pictures. Would be sure to stay here again if ever looking for cheaper acommidation in phillip island for the night. Don't listen to reviews make up your own mind :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thankyou very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and strongly believe that this site often misused by reviewers to attempt to almost defame or destroy reputations of businesses Australia wide. We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Beautiful location, close to the beach. It's quiet...until the bar comes to life. The receptionist was nice enough to shift us to a quieter room away from the bar (I was travelling with family), though I did visit the place later at night when the silence became too boring.

It isn't awfully clean, and there's no wifi in room (at least, not in the one we were staying in). But all in all, it was a good decision to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theconti59, Manager at The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thankyou so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

we booked here overnight for my birthday, as we pulled up it looked very old and dated but we thought it may be ok inside. Having seen previous reviews we asked for a room far away from the bar area as its very noisy, we were the furthest away so we couldnt hear any noise from the bar thankfully!
The parking was pretty average.
Our room was ok, very clean but the bathroom was very old in need of some TLC/Upgrade.
We found the matress to be very uncomfortable tho.
Fantastic view overlooking the water was a positive, but if i had the choice again to stay here i probably would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: ask for a room far away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I bought a voucher after having a quick look at the company website and forgetting to check trip advisor, it was to be a 2 night escape in a spa room, the spa looked bad and we didn't dare use it, the place was noisy with a fight taking place in the street around midnight, the continental breakfast was poor with several of the glasses offered for juices clearly dirty and all in all we decided to check out after only the one night! We were not even able to watch any decent TV with an old analogue CRT set and no ability to see the digital channels or use our movie player.

Room Tip: The Executive Spa Rooms are spacious enough with a brilliant view, just run down. Personally I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Continental Hotel Phillip Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Address: 5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Continental Hotel Phillip Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Continental Hotel Phillip Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Cowes
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.