We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Continental Hotel Phillip Island to your Saves list
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is clean but very run down with no facilities at all. Very old analogue tv furniture falling apart. This is a $50 dollar a night hotel not a $165 a night hotel. We stayed in a deluxe spa suite still rubbish.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    43
    30
    46
See reviews for
34
65
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed in a "Deluxe" room which included "breakfast" for $160 per night. Curtains were torn, furniture was damaged with chipboard exposed , heating on air conditioning not functioning and rotting timber in the bathroom! It is the worst room I have stayed in in years and an embarrassment to Australian tourism. "Breakfast" turned out to be stale cereals and cheese slices and cheap luncheon meats. We felt embarrassed as Australians that the rest of the guests who were overseas tourist would think that this is an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staff exceptional, rooms a bit 'dated' but not the worst I have seen. Breakfast was so yummy and everything you could think of. Kids loved it being so close to the pier and across the road from the water.. Will 100% be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I knew this was a 3 star motel style property so I was expecting such. I chose it because my sister had stayed there previously and she wanted to return but also because it has the perfect location if you want to stay in Cowes and it has a view of the iconic Cowes pier.
I chose the "Executive suite" which was on the 3rd floor with a balcony and a huge spa bath. At $120 per night you get what you pay for and this room was relatively clean and set up like your usual motel style room. Plenty of space with a queen size bed and 2 seater sofa and coffee table.
The curtain over the glass sliding doors was falling off, the spa bath worked well but had cracks in the bottom, the security latch on the door looked like it had been removed (or smashed off) and there was a hole in the wall where the door knob had smashed against it. The reverse cycle air conditioning wasn't working but 2 plug in radiator heaters were provided which worked very well. (Luckily as it was very cold and very windy). Again, you get what you pay for.
The check in at reception was trouble free and I asked if someone could carry my case up the 3 flights of outdoor stairs and a young man appeared to do so.
The breakfast provided was a bit of an embarrassment and actually they would have been better off not offering it. It consisted of a number of sugary commercial cereals, toast with spreads and 2 types of canned fruit, some cheese slices and cold meat slices. we chose to eat out for breakfast.
The other thing I want to include is that being a female alone, for some reason I didn't feel quite safe in that room. Was it the young guys swearing loudly at the outside bar under my window after we arrived, the hoons speeding up and down in their cars, the lock on the door being not safe or just the fact that the wind was so strong that it sounded like someone was knocking on the sliding door? Anyway staying at Cowes was a bit of a trip down memory lane and it has not changed a bit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

High light: location to water
Low lights: the "garden room" located at the back of hotel looks like a prison/toilet block, room was unclean, bathroom was mouldy and need of repair, the front door could not open and had a kicked in dent so we had to go through the sliding door on other side, "continental breakfast" was home brand cereal and bread, instant coffee and a few sad looking deli meats.
Verdict: you can do better for the same price!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked in for one night as we were concern about the reviews, we ended up staying a week longer. Staff are very friendly and could not enough for us. Rooms were of good value and nice and clean. Guys if your wanting to say in a 5star and only pay 100 bucks your idiots. This is a great place for a good price. I feel most of the reviews are to harsh and do not reflect the actual standard of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We thought we were lucky to get bargain accommodation and penguin passes through Deals.com.au The location of the hotel is great, very central with views.
But buyer beware.
Arrived Saturday to find we are roomed on the top level, so we had to lug five bags and three kids up three level of stairs. Tried to get the kids settled in front of the TV while we unpack, but only three channels worked, and not one that the kids could watch. The staff were friendly enough, especially when they told us there was no hot water. Yes you heard right no hot water. No hot water Saturday Sunday and Monday . When we asked for a refund they said we would have to go through the Deals.com.au. WHAT A JOKE. Three kids , two adults ..no hot water .
Not happy at all
The breakfast included was ok, and we were able to use all the vouchers to the sightseeing attractions, but I would trade them all for hot water. Buyers beware.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Continental Hotel Phillip Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Address: 5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Continental Hotel Phillip Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Continental Hotel Phillip Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Cowes
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.