We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst part of my holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Continental Hotel Phillip Island to your Saves list
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
1 review
“Worst part of my holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Not only were the rooms horrible and dirty they dont disclose that there is a bar with loud music and singers. Good luck trying to get to sleep. The music is so loud it actually sounds like you have your radio on full blast in your room. Not aceptable at all. The location is the only thing it has going for it. It is not value for money, if it was it would have been cheaper. I would rather burn my money than stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    48
    33
    51
See reviews for
41
74
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaspray
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at the continental recently. The hotel is old and that is obvious from the outside. We selected a bay view room, the room was very spacious clean and had been upgraded recentl.
The staff at reception, breakfast and the bar were cheery and always helpful.
I will return to this hotel it was great value.

Room Tip: Pick a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goondiwindi, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

A tired old hotel in need of some TLC. In saying that, the rooms were very clean and spacious. No lifts, just old stairs to each level. If you have a walking disability, ask for a ground floor room. Breakfast was basic, cereal and toast, tea/coffee and juice. A good view across to the beach and just one street down from the centre of town where you will find a variety of restaurants. All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

As the title says, i don't know what everyone is sooking about, i guess guests don't check the star rating before they stay at places! IT'S A 3 STAR HOTEL, IT'S NOT A 4 STAR!! We are currently staying here on the very top level in an ocean view spa suite, we both agree it's great value for money based on the view and location. It's ON the main beach, most rooms have balconies, AND it has it's own pub (Isle of Wight is here now due to the original one burning down). The blonde lady at reception was helpful, quick and pleasant. Apart from bring a little outdated, it's really not that bad. And coming from me (i love my luxury hotels), i think this place is great for the rates. It's clean, tidy, the spas are big, and the pool is large and clean. Two minute walk to town, walk downstairs to the pub for a beer and counter meal and relax on the balcony watching teenagers make arses of themselves on the beach as it is the rear end of the schoolies week. We would happily come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Reception was nice and friendly and it was a quick ckeck-in. The Garden Suite is a separate single storey Block. It was summer, flowers were about to bloom in the garden and it was nice and peaceful. We parked our car right infront our Unit 131. The bedroom and living room are separate. There is a sofa bed in the living room. There is no ocean view for this unit and it was OK for us as we just needed a place to sleep. We walked to the beach and watched seaguls ...so many of them. The shops and restaurants are just a short walk. Coles Supermarket have Halal IndoMie Goreng. Once all the rooms are updated they will increase the rates.

Room Tip: Garden Suite has no Ocean View and is Ok in Summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Poor room design outdated television not even digital only redeeming feature is the location service is quite a low standard also DO NOT GET A STANDARD ROOM they are forgotten about rooms even though the prices is almost the same

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Contrary to many other reviews,our stay (as two mature couples) at The Continental was more than satisfactory.Initially I had looked at length for house/unit accomodation for a one night stay mid week.Many places do not rent for one night and the few that do charge well beyond the expected price indicated on websites.My husband rang The Continental as he was keen on the location-close to shopping centre,with beachfront views, We were pleased that there were Ocean View Standard Rooms that would accomodate us-moderately priced and including a continental breakfast.We asked for a ground floor room due to some health issues that may have made use of stairs difficult.When we arrived and assessed the stairs to first floor rooms we asked if our room type were upstairs and the staff cheerfully relocated us,stating that the view was better. The set up of the room suited our needs perfectly-we had privacy for sleeping,dressing etc and having the basin outside the shower/toilet room meant that we weren't impeded at all.We also sat out on the balcony and enjoyed the sun with our cuppas.We did run out of teabags but were given a more than generous supply.We had dinner that night at the hotel,with large servings,good service and a good view of the lights of Hastings on the other side of Westernport Bay.The room was quiet,we slept well and the continental breakfast was well supplied-various cereals,yoghurts,two choices of canned fruit ,apple and orange juice,cold meats,cheeses,three bread choices and muffins and varied spreads and teas/coffee.It was help yourself. Although the telly was old and two of the four chairs were not in perfect condition,they served their purposes.At all times the staff were cheerful and helpful.We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend to others or stay there again.

Room Tip: The views are better upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#2 of 11 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Castle Villa by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#1 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.2 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Comfort Resort Kaloha
#5 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continental Hotel Phillip Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Address: 5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Continental Hotel Phillip Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Continental Hotel Phillip Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Cowes
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.