We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know why everyone is sooking...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Continental Hotel Phillip Island to your Saves list
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't know why everyone is sooking...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

As the title says, i don't know what everyone is sooking about, i guess guests don't check the star rating before they stay at places! IT'S A 3 STAR HOTEL, IT'S NOT A 4 STAR!! We are currently staying here on the very top level in an ocean view spa suite, we both agree it's great value for money based on the view and location. It's ON the main beach, most rooms have balconies, AND it has it's own pub (Isle of Wight is here now due to the original one burning down). The blonde lady at reception was helpful, quick and pleasant. Apart from bring a little outdated, it's really not that bad. And coming from me (i love my luxury hotels), i think this place is great for the rates. It's clean, tidy, the spas are big, and the pool is large and clean. Two minute walk to town, walk downstairs to the pub for a beer and counter meal and relax on the balcony watching teenagers make arses of themselves on the beach as it is the rear end of the schoolies week. We would happily come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    47
    33
    51
See reviews for
40
74
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Reception was nice and friendly and it was a quick ckeck-in. The Garden Suite is a separate single storey Block. It was summer, flowers were about to bloom in the garden and it was nice and peaceful. We parked our car right infront our Unit 131. The bedroom and living room are separate. There is a sofa bed in the living room. There is no ocean view for this unit and it was OK for us as we just needed a place to sleep. We walked to the beach and watched seaguls ...so many of them. The shops and restaurants are just a short walk. Coles Supermarket have Halal IndoMie Goreng. Once all the rooms are updated they will increase the rates.

Room Tip: Garden Suite has no Ocean View and is Ok in Summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Poor room design outdated television not even digital only redeeming feature is the location service is quite a low standard also DO NOT GET A STANDARD ROOM they are forgotten about rooms even though the prices is almost the same

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Contrary to many other reviews,our stay (as two mature couples) at The Continental was more than satisfactory.Initially I had looked at length for house/unit accomodation for a one night stay mid week.Many places do not rent for one night and the few that do charge well beyond the expected price indicated on websites.My husband rang The Continental as he was keen on the location-close to shopping centre,with beachfront views, We were pleased that there were Ocean View Standard Rooms that would accomodate us-moderately priced and including a continental breakfast.We asked for a ground floor room due to some health issues that may have made use of stairs difficult.When we arrived and assessed the stairs to first floor rooms we asked if our room type were upstairs and the staff cheerfully relocated us,stating that the view was better. The set up of the room suited our needs perfectly-we had privacy for sleeping,dressing etc and having the basin outside the shower/toilet room meant that we weren't impeded at all.We also sat out on the balcony and enjoyed the sun with our cuppas.We did run out of teabags but were given a more than generous supply.We had dinner that night at the hotel,with large servings,good service and a good view of the lights of Hastings on the other side of Westernport Bay.The room was quiet,we slept well and the continental breakfast was well supplied-various cereals,yoghurts,two choices of canned fruit ,apple and orange juice,cold meats,cheeses,three bread choices and muffins and varied spreads and teas/coffee.It was help yourself. Although the telly was old and two of the four chairs were not in perfect condition,they served their purposes.At all times the staff were cheerful and helpful.We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend to others or stay there again.

Room Tip: The views are better upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked the spa suite for 1 night. The room was clean enough, but everything was very old. The outside of the hotel needs updating. We left our 2 year old sons bucket and spade in the room by accident after we checked out, and when my husband went to get it, reception wouldn't go and get it, and wouldn't call housekeeping either. I was not happy, even though it was cheap, it was the point of it. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I had surprised my husband for our first wedding anniversary, booked the executive spa room for the king size bed, private balcony, complimentary breaky, and, of course, the spa. Got there at 2pm. Room was awful, ground level so it had a view of a tree and a footpath. The king size bed was 2 uncomfortable singles pushed together. There was NO HOT water for the spa and the shower had huge cracks in the tiles where water had pooled. We contacted reception about the water several times.. Eventually it came back on at around 7;30pm. No apology or offer of discount from the hotel. We stayed the night only because we were unable to find a room available elsewhere. Breakfast in the morning was cereal or cold toast.. We left by 8am the next morning. I was nearly in tears. They offered us nothing but a sarcastic 'have a nice day' from the girl at the desk on our way out. You only get one first wedding anniversary so if you're planning yours I recommend you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room was clean and tidy though dated, tap was difficult to turn off and beds were in need of replaceing. Good basic value wih excellent service from all staff we encountered fabulous location though rooms could do with up dating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Continental Hotel Phillip Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Hotel Phillip Island

Address: 5 The Esplanade | PO Box 797, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Continental Hotel Phillip Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Continental Hotel Phillip Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Cowes
The Continental Hotel Phillip Island Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Continental Hotel Phillip Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.