We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Villa by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle Villa by the Sea to your Saves list
The Castle Villa by the Sea
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7-9 Steele Street | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Cowes
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
309 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

This hotel advertises its rating as 4.5 - 5 stars. In my opinion and based on my recent experiences here, I cannot say that I can agree with this assessment.
On arrival, during a heavy rain shower, we found water coming in through the terrace roof and our lounge area. Bearing in mind there were electrics running through this part of the accommodation, I was concerned about the effect of the leaks. The owners dismissed my concern, mopped up the water and offered a glass of wine! This did not bode well for our stay...the following morning there was some dispute over which breakfasts had been ordered - the host even got our the pre-order form out to make a point! Given our roof top suite, I found no evidence in any room literature (there was none) of hotel instructions as to emergency exits, but later found one, disguised behind large potted plants on the ground floor. On requesting a G & T from their honesty bar - one bottle on the shelf was empty and they had run out of tonic.
As regards payment, we had been told that to pay by credit card would cost an extra 2.-3% on our bill, so I suggested we pay by AUS$ travellers cheques - this seem to be a problem as the hosts were unsure how to process this. Finally, I said we would pay by cash and lifted the appropriate amount from the ATM.
Having left my other half to settle the account, we duly left to have breakfast at a local cafe. We left Phillip Island about 1.5 hours later. On arrival back at our other temporary accommodation on the Mornington Penninsula, I checked my mobile phone to discover a voice message had been left about 2 hours after we had departed the Caste to say that they had been trying to contact us and that we had only paid less than 50% of our total bill and the rest would be deducted from the credit card!!!! We knew this was not the case, as the host had given $10 back in change from the exact amount lifted from the ATM,
I cannot begin to think what was going on at this point, but telephoned the owners who quickly backed down on this claim of underpayment!
The above does not cover all the snagging we found at this establishment and to say we were thoroughly disappoiinted with our experiences represents how much we believed the marketing literature.
I suspect this establishment at one time did come high recommended, but something has drastically shifted as regards quality of accommodation and service today and as for the claim of underpayment, I am still at a loss to know what was going on, but it has left me unable to recommend this estatlishment or to make much in the way of positive comments to potential customers

  • Liked — Within walking distance to Cowes centre
  • Disliked — Claims of underpayment
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, June 27, 2009
Having run this property with my wife for some 16 years and hosted thousands of guests - we are proud of our record that in that period, complaints have been minuscule – of these some have genuine reason for complaint and we strive to our utmost to ensure that the problem is rectified immediately.

However there is the occasional guest that enters with an aura that is insurmountable and frankly intimidating.

We found the Celtic Wanderers 2 such ladies – to say that things went from bad to worse Is an understatement

I can say no more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
11
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2006

We just returned from our third stay at The Castle and loved it just as much, you really can't find better on Phillip Island. Everything you expect in a small luxury hotel - tranquility and total relaxation and more. We have now stayed in both summer and winter and both season offer something special, cosy fireplaces, heavenly bedrooms and delicious home cooked meals in winter and in summer you have lots of different outside terraces to relax on and are moments form the beach. We can't reccommend The Castle more, go and stay you won't be disappointed by it's charm. We will certainly be back!

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — go in both summer and winter for 2 different experiences
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review
Harley & Jenni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2006

I have been to the castle several times, and each time my partner and I had had a wonderful time. However, not on this occasion. My grandfather died teh same day we were due to check in - so we called that same morning to inform the castle that we would not be coming. The management team were more concerened about having already prepared the rrom and turned on the heater for us, rather than show sympathy for a our loss. Very dissapointing reaction - not only that, but we were still charged the full hightly rate..no effort was made to reaacomodate us at a later stage. We will not ne returning.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, Owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
There was some confussion to actually who had passed away
Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

We spent two nights at the Castle Inn while we explored Phillip Island and the surrounding area. It was our first trip to Australia and we were told that this part of Victoria is very special. We were not disappointed. Jenni and Harley, the hosts, have a charming inn. Only a few rooms, a couple are suites. We stayed in the upstairs suite, a spacious one bedroom, living room, private patio with outdoor spa/shower, and another full bathroom. Jenni is an artiist and her touch is evident from the jewel tone color scheme and original art on the walls. The suite has everything one might need including a small efficiency bar area for making coffee, tea, and a light snack. I loved the canopied bed! We elected to have dinner (prepared by Harley) one evening and it was worth every penny. We ate out on the patio and there was only one other couple there, so it was like having our own private dining area. A full breakfast comes with the room and it was another culinary delight! The grounds are nicely landscaped and the inn is on a quiet side street but just a few blocks from "downtown Cowes". If you want to be pampered, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willywagtail, owner at The Castle Villa by the Sea, responded to this review, May 20, 2007
thank you for your compliments - we found your review as some guests who stayed here were recommended by friends of theirs who had read about us on trip advisor and said it must be fabulous or horrendous as there were opposite reviews! You made us so happy, best wishes to you and yours, Jenni and Harley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#2 of 11 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#7 of 11 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Comfort Resort Kaloha
#5 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#1 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arthur Phillip Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Villa by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Villa by the Sea

Address: 7-9 Steele Street | Phillip Island, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cowes
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Castle Villa by the Sea 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Luxury Villa offers you your own island oasis and perfect carefree holiday accommodation, footsteps from the beach-front and hidden away in a magical garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Castle Villa by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Cowes
The Castle Villa By The Sea Phillip Island/Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Villa by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.