We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love these cute little penguins” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phillip Island Nature Park

Phillip Island Nature Park
1013 Ventnor Road | Summerlannds Estate, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
61 3 59 512 820
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Phillip Island Nature Park like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$33*
and up
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only 90 minutes from Melbourne, Phillip Island NatureParks includes Australia’s most popular wildlife attraction,the Penguin Parade, our Australian historic working farm,Churchill Island and our natural and wild koalas at KoalaConservation Centre—all located on one island.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Love these cute little penguins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We did the fairy penguin parade as part of our AAT Kings 1 day tour of Phillip Island. This is the only night it rained in the whole 10 days we were in Victoria - it was winter, it was dark, it was blowy and the torential rain was very cold as we sat on the concrete steps waiting. But I'd do it all again to see those little penguins with their funny walk and their complete indifference to our presence. Highlight of the tour and a very nice facility for the tourists who come to see these cute little birds.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    85
    26
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A definite must-do in Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

You will never regret signing up for the Penguin Parade tour once you see the penguins swimming back from sea to their homes at sunset. It is such a fantastic experience and the kids definitely enjoyed it. This natural phenomenon just gives you a warm feeling when seeing the penguins way of life. If you'd like a better view and experience, be sure to sign up for penguin plus which might cost slightly more than $20 but it's worth it. There will also be stopovers at other attractions like Koala conservation, farm, chocolate factory, etc depending on which tour company you sign up with. During winter, it can be very cold and windy waiting for the penguins outdoors so be sure you have warm clothing with you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful : )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a great experience - we bought the cheap tickets and because we got there earlyish got great seats down the front corner. We saw loads of little penguins come up out of the sea and make their way up the rocks over a period of a couple of hours.

The longer you spend down on the steps the more penguins you'll see on the way back up on the boardwalk. They were everywhere in their nests and walking alongside us only about 1m away.

Definitely dress warmly, the seating is exposed and there's no roofing, so we were frozen after cold wind and rain - well worth visiting though for a close up penguin experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“What a great attraction!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A must do while on Phillip Island!!
Low cost entertainment at a great location. Very informative!!!
Although travelliong alone for business, this was reccommended to me as the number 1 thing to do while on the island. And i can see why!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Phillip Island, Penguins & more day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked "A Tour with a Difference" with atwad tour co. We were picked up from our apartment and travelled in a small very comfortable Mercedes van. As the winery we were to visit was closed on a Monday, we stopped to have a "picnic" in a very scenic spot with fresh bread, cheeses and a selection of wines . Next we stopped at Pannys chocolate factory - it was truly amazing. Everyone on our tour opted for the wildlife Park and we were able to see all the animals up really close and were able to feed the many wallabies and kangaroos that roamed free. We were driven to see the sunset over the Nobbies which was truly beautiful. Even managed to see a seal basking on the rocks below our lockout. Then onto The Penguin Parade. We decided to pay the extra $22 and upgrade to the Penguin Plus option and sit on the tiered seating which is limited to 170 people. It was well worth it. Although we went late May we had a beautiful calm night. The site of 100's of penguins coming out of the water was spectacular. We were able to walk beside them as they walked beside the boardwalk to their nests. Our dinner was at a restaurant in Cowe - The Fat Seagull. The meal was superb! It was a thoroughly enjoyable day. Many thanks to Brian the owner and driver of our tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillip Island Nature Park also viewed

Summerlands, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Phillip Island Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillip Island Nature Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.