We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close and personal with the little penguins.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phillip Island Nature Park

Phillip Island Nature Park
1013 Ventnor Road | Summerlannds Estate, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
61 3 59 512 820
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$141*
and up
Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus...
Ranked #2 of 12 Attractions in Cowes
Type: Islands, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only 90 minutes from Melbourne, Phillip Island NatureParks includes Australia’s most popular wildlife attraction,the Penguin Parade, our Australian historic working farm,Churchill Island and our natural and wild koalas at KoalaConservation Centre—all located on one island.
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Up close and personal with the little penguins.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Cute little penguins :)
We waited for a long time and I was really shivering because it's quite cold but... it's worth the wait :)
It really is amazing to see them walking back in groups to their burrows. How I wish I could bring them home :)

Note: Cameras are not allowed as they can disturb the penguins.
Suggestion: bring a small blanket to keep you warm

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    59
    17
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Phillip Island - Penguin Parade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was a wonderful experience. At dusk, Penguins first gather in groups in shallow water on the coast and emerge out in groups on the beach as a defensive measure. They brave the Seagulls which are still present in small numbers and trudge towards their burrows. They cross the rocks and go up a long way up-to their respective homes and suddenly you start hearing joyful sounds of their offsprings waiting to be fed. On our way back from the amphitheatre like structure on the beach, a number of Penguins were spotted as if people are walking in the lanes of a village. Some of the Penguins were seen standing in the middle of the lane facing each other as if friends are exchanging notes on coming back from work. The Penguins keep reaching the shore and as soon as a group is formed they come out. More Penguins emerge on the right side area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not many penguins, but still very special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not a cheap outing for a family, but we were all entranced by the Little Penguins as they tottered out of the sea, got knocked over, and faced off with the sea gulls! I doubt we even saw 100, but I still think it was worth it - just. If you go, make sure you take several extra layers - it really does get cold by the sea at dusk. Also take something to sit on as the concrete benches are very chilly. Don't take food as the seagulls will dive bomb you! The warnings about no photography are strictly enforced - don't risk being told to leave like some people were. One extra point - as the island is remote, don't forget to look up at stars when you leave - you should get a great view of the Milky Way if it's clear.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over-commercialised”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I feel terrible for those penguins. It's an absolute travesty that 2000-3000 tickets are sold every night. It should be more like a couple of hundred tickets. I fully understand that ticket sales generate much needed income for not-for-profit organisations in order to protect wildlife such as the little penguins but when there are are so many tourists that you can't control them and they disturb the penguins so much it's just wrong.

Wish I had never gone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perhaps not during summer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A fair drive from Melbourne was not worth the visit. The Penguins are just not around. Possibly it was the long summer days that kept them away. The few Koala's in the park are certainly nice to see although the zoo atmosphere is prevalent. The beach and cliff's are nice but i wouldn't take the trip just for that.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillip Island Nature Park also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Summerlands, Phillip Island
 

Been to Phillip Island Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillip Island Nature Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.