We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good serviced apartment in a top location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phillip Island Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Phillip Island Apartments to your Saves list
Phillip Island Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Corner Bass Avenue and Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Melbourne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A good serviced apartment in a top location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The location is excellent, being reasonably quiet but within 150 metres of the main street and also the foreshore with its pier, beach, treed picnic area and children's playground. We had two ground floor double bedroom serviced apartments and the remarks for both apartments are the same. The living room, kitchen and bedrooms were clean, of a good standard and well furnished, but the bathrooms were looking a bit dated and both had steadily leaking taps. Telling tests for such apartments are (i) the kitchen utensils, namely the knives (were sharp), frying pan (didn't stick), bowls (a good assortment of sizes), so a pass on the kitchen usability, and (ii) the beds, which were very comfortable.
The BBQ area was fairly clean and was supplied with utensils and cooking oil.
The water in both the swimming pool and the spa was clear. The pool is a good size but the spa (which is heated) is on the smallish side considering the number of guests that wanted to use it.
We found the office and room servicing staff to be polite and helpful.
There aren't any lifts, so if stairs are an issue, make sure you get a ground floor unit.
Its not cheap, but overall, considering the location, OK value for a family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamQPI, Manager at Phillip Island Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Quest Phillips Island enjoys an ideal location close to restaurants, supermarkets and of course the family beaches.
As we are upgrading the apartments and the surrounds we hope you will return and review the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    53
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I like the location of the apartments as it is near many restaurants and also 2 groceries stores. The room is of a good size for the 2 adults and 2 children in our party. I really love the washing machine and dryer and the kitchen which is fully equipped with plates, cutleries.

However, I feel that there is still room for improvement for gaining higher ratings for Quest.

- Other than the lady that was really friendly and helpful when I checked in, the other contact I had with the staff was when I reported that there were 2 stoves that were faulty. The impression given was as if I was the one who spoiled the stoves, when all I wanted to do was to inform them, so that Quest can fix it. The stove really inconvenient me as it took me more than double the time I need to cook some pasta. Maybe the staff should check all the equipments in the apartment after each guest has checked out to have better idea of when such items are spoiled.

- The tap at the kitchen sink was not aligned and it was not fixed. Surely such faults can be easily sighted if the housekeeper was more alerted.

- The floor was mopped before we checked in, however, it was so sticky despite of it being mopped. We are asian and we usually do not wear shoes inside the house, but we have no choice as the floor was sticky and it was uncomfortable walking on sticky floor. Housekeeping standard needs to be improved.

- Lack of hooks / rack in toilet. The hook at the toilet door was loose and yet not fixed.

- Poor internet speed and it should be upgraded.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamQPI, Manager at Phillip Island Apartments, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We note your comment about the poor quality of the cooking facilities, We have gradually replaced the kitchens with new hobs and ovens and understand your frustrations. We are also now in the process of the repairing and replacing taps and other bathroom fixtures to bring the apartments to a more comfortable state.
The Wi Fi on the island is slow and we have again attempted to install a stronger system in the hope we can capture more download for our guests.
Renovation is always a lengthy procedure in apartment complexes due to constant occupancy. However I hope should you wish to return you will be pleased with the changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The location of these Quest apartments is excellent, a 3 minute walk to whatever you want to do in Cowes, you can basically ditch the car. Check in was swift but not overly friendly which was identical to my experience when I rang to confirm the day before. The list of house rules when you arrive are not that welcoming either and could probably be reworded!

These are serviced apartments but during our 3 night stay it was only serviced once. They encourage the laundering of your own towels but did replace them on out service day when asked. The room itself was fine, well equipped however the bathroom was in need of some attention, looking very tired, mouldy grout and dated. The kitchen was well stocked with any gadgets you might need. First night I pulled the covers back to find a large obvious blood stain which housekeeping would have to have seen when making the beds. Again they did change it when asked. Apart from that the room was clean.

The pool was cloudy and dirty looking and while Quest assured us it was safe to swim, it didn't look good. I went in it once and felt unwell after so the jury is out on that one! It's a nice area though and the BBQ area was clean.

Would I return? Overall for almost $300 pn, there's probably better value to be had. The hospitality wasn't particularly warm and the rooms made the cut but just something about the whole experience makes me say no.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamQPI, Manager at Phillip Island Apartments, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Buster 1960
Thank you for your review, our house rules may seem interminable but being a hospitality venue we try and cater to all requirements hence all the "house rules".
We do provide service every 3rd day but housekeeping is available on a daily basis at a nominal extra fee this is noted on our "house rules" as being on offer.
Your comment about blood on your sheets, was a surprise providing that all our linen comes in fresh on a daily basis. I am glad that it was changed promptly and we will pass this on to our laundry supplier,
As our pool has a lot of vegetation surrounding the area should it be windy it becomes a problem and the water becomes cloudy. On many occasions we have had to close the pool while chemicals are added to adjust the PH.
We are a busy accommodation house and at time reception can be brusque being aware of calls being on hold and while others waiting for your attention at check in.
Our apologies for the lack of warmth during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had always wanted to see the penguin parade on Phillip Island and somehow, the Quest in Cowes seemed well-placed for a 3-night stay. We were generally happy with what we expect of a serviced apartment, just don't ask for a daily towel service :-(

The apartment we booked had in-unit washer & dryer, which was very convenient, except that the dryer isn't "industrial" standard if you have a heavy load. The toilet & bath units are separate, quite practical when you are a family of 4. The sliding door locks were a little tricky but we managed to figure them out !

The kitchen was super - nicely appointed with hotplate cookers, a spacious oven & overlarge fridge. When cooking up a storm, remember to slide out the cooker hood though, it seems the fire alarm will go off otherwise ...

Everything you'd need for self-styled cooking is available from a local Coles supermart, an easy 6 mins walk away. Eateries are similarly close-by for afternoon snacks or dining out.

The property has an open-air pool & jacuzzi but we didn't try them out because the water didn't look so pristine during our stay. There were others who weren't so particular & they seemed to enjoy being ourdoors & close to Nature - beautiful & noisy birds all around, in the trees.

With the car, the Penguin Parade is just 15mins away but you really want to stay at least 3 nights to appreciate Phillip Island's other attractions. We managed to check out Churchill Island, Woolamai Beach, the go-kart Grand Prix circuit, Koala Centre, the Nobbies (view & photograph penguins in their roosts upclose & personal) & Pyramid Rock boardwalks (very windy, so bring your windbreakers!).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamQPI, Manager at Phillip Island Apartments, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, it is always so nice read a review by a satisfied guest. The washing machines and dryers are of a domestic quality as we are servicing families who don't require much else.
The attractions are so many and varied at Phillip Island, the mainstay are of course the penguins and it just so exciting watching these little creatures swimming valiantly up the channel to their burrows.
The Koala conservation park is another wonderful attraction especially for the children to view. Churchill Island farm is also a wonderful experience as it is working heritage farm and wonderful experience for children and families, for all of these reason Quest Phillip Island is ideally located close to all amenities and shops
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed there for one night so we could see the penguins without busting a gut travelling. Ideal for two couples - apartment was comfortable and well equipped with shops five minutes away. Lounge area was spacious and the bedrooms comfortable. However could foresee difficulties in access for some as there is no lift. On this experience I would certainly look at other Quest locations should we decide to have another weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamQPI, Manager at Phillip Island Apartments, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your response, we are glad that you found our apartments comfortable, and easy to relax in, the stairs can prove a problem and we do endeavour to provide ground floor apartments if requested and are available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked a one bedroom apartment but on arrival were given a two bedroom apartment. It was very large with large spacious bedrooms and living room. There were two showers in the bathroom which was quite convenient. Plenty of kitchenware available for cooking.
The apartments were only serviced every couple of days but this was stated quite clearly in the brochure in the room.
The pool area tended to be full of kids so was noisy but generally OK.
WiFi was free but tended to be bit slow but was manageable.
Access to the beach and town was ideal as both were close by.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamQPI, Manager at Phillip Island Apartments, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank your for your review. As you have discovered Quest Phillip Island is ideally situated to shops, beach and other amenities, the apartments are spacious and have a lovely balcony to enable you to enjoy the end of day..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

our room was not 4 star quality.The kitchen ceiling needs painting mould on the roof.The outdoor table on the patio needs to be replaced and we are a family that eats together and only 2 chair supplied.We left our room at 9.30am most days returning around 2pm coming back to find the cleaners had not been to our room.Our child rolled a ball under the couch to find it had not been cleaned for some time,also in the bedroom we found a old bottle of water under it.The only way to get the place vaccumed was to ask for it to be done I expected it to be done every day.As for the carpark we went to the Penguin Parade arrived back late to find no Car park available residents are given a car pass on arrival one per apartment this is not policied by staff we had to park out the front of the apartments very annoyed.We could go on and on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamQPI, Manager at Phillip Island Apartments, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we are most apologetic for the inconveniences you experienced.
At check in we request you to sign a registration form on which we state service is available every 3rd day however, on request we are able to provide daily service at a nominal charge.
Apologies for the lack of cleanliness and as our housekeeping completed the task as requested it was not offered as a daily occurrence, again we are able to provide full housekeeping on request but as a self contained self service apartment complex we offer apartment living as an economical holiday substitute as against a full service hotel.
The car parking we provide for our guests is for 1 car per apartment this enable us to monitor that only guests cars are parked. This is monitored by our night staff at 9 pm and if all cars have passes displayed there is no reason to organise removals.
Again we can only apologies for the lack of information passed on to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.2 mi away
The Waves Apartments
The Waves Apartments
#2 of 11 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Phillip Island
0.2 mi away
Comfort Resort Kaloha
Comfort Resort Kaloha
#5 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seahorse Motel
Seahorse Motel
#1 of 11 in Cowes
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Island Accommodation
The Island Accommodation
#1 of 3 in Newhaven
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
9.6 mi away
Silverwater Resort
Silverwater Resort
#2 of 3 in San Remo
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillip Island Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillip Island Apartments

Address: Corner Bass Avenue and Chapel Street, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Cowes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phillip Island Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the vibrant township of Cowes, Phillip Island Apartments are a short stroll to local shops, restaurants and recreational beaches as well as within easy travelling distance to Phillip Island’s many attractions including the Penguin Parade, Grand Prix Circuit and the islands many beautiful surf beaches and walking trails.Phillip Island Apartments offer comfortable and spacious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained apartments. Full kitchen and laundry facilities along with open lounge and dining area are available in each apartment as well as private balcony or patio.Phillip Island Apartments have an outdoor pool, gas heated spa and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Phillip Island Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phillip Island Apartments Cowes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillip Island Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.