We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn About and Experience Koalas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koala Conservation Centre

Koala Conservation Centre
1810 Phillip Island Tourist Road, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
61 3 59 512 820
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$131*
and up
Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus...
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Cowes
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: koala conservation centre. Meet our koalas ‘face to face’ from our amazing treetop boardwalks at this unique ecotourism attraction. This area of natural bush land isalso home to an amazing variety of birds and wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
559 reviews
362 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Learn About and Experience Koalas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

While at this center, we were able to get 2 views of koalas up close, and may more from afar. They have a large enclosure with two board walk sections which are used for breading purposes. Around each koala, you’ll see a little white sign with information about the koala and its environment. We took the time to walk around the larger enclosure and were able to see wild wallabies and lots of little birds. The visitor center holds a lot of information about the koalas and their habitat and is worth spending time in.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    152
    105
    22
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go to the Philip Island Nature Park instead!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Wish we had known about the Philip Island Nature Park before we spent any money on the Koala Conservation Center.

Koalas sleep A LOT so if you don't get there during the four hours per day they're awake, you just wasted a bunch of cash.

The Nature Park on the other hand has tons of animals that you can hand feed (kangaroos, wallabys) and koalas too.

Way better value

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“waynelynne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

trip was really good and visited old friends as well. We had many walks around the areas of Cowes and San Remo and especially Wonthaggi. We managed also to have meals at the San Remo hotel and one of the smaller chinese takaways ,both meals were excellent.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great to see koalas in their natural habitat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It was great to see koalas in their natural habitat, but this was also the downfall of this attraction as they were high up and far away so our young kids were a bit disappointed. Still, it is a nice place in a nice setting

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sleepy koalas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went in the morning. There were quite a few koalas up in the trees but you need to hunt for them. All of them were asleep though :) Spent about an hour there & it was enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koala Conservation Centre also viewed

Summerlands, Phillip Island
 

Been to Koala Conservation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koala Conservation Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.