We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Koala viewing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koala Conservation Centre

Koala Conservation Centre
1810 Phillip Island Tourist Road, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
61 3 59 512 820
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$131*
and up
Melbourne Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus...
Ranked #6 of 19 things to do in Cowes
Activities: Birdwatching, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: koala conservation centre. Meet our koalas ‘face to face’ from our amazing treetop boardwalks at this unique ecotourism attraction. This area of natural bush land isalso home to an amazing variety of birds and wildlife.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Koala viewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Despite visiting on a day the mercury reached 36deg, we managed to enjoy a good walk around the 2 main boardwalks at this pleasant area of Koala Conservation. Helpfull signs placed by rangers help point you in the right direction of where a Koala may be resting, a few times this was litterally right in front of our eyes.

We saw about 6 koalas , 2 or 3 of these were only a meter or two away, so good photo oppertunities. The education center is well set out with ample information and displays.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    151
    105
    22
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but not a must see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you're from overseas and you haven't seen a koala then come here for sure. The koalas are in a very natural environment and there's nice short walks through our "bush". Very peaceful and feels "Australian".

Koalas are an extremely boring animal that rest most of the day so don't expect a show. Some could be soft toys stuck in a tree for all you'd know :) All but 1 were pretty far away from us so the view wasn't very good. I do like that it's about conservation and koala welfare though, as opposed to how close we can get. It's not a zoo and that's good! Just don't expect a close encounter!

As an Aussie I've seen koalas a lot before and even touched some at Australia zoo so I enjoyed the peaceful stroll more than the koalas. My 2.5 to daughter wasn't really interested in the koalas either as they were so far away and just sit still, so she liked exploring the paths more.

It was worth a visit if you're looking for something to do, but no issue if you don't get time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just For Koalas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This Place is for more information and understanding of Koalas. For seeing of Koalas, there are just a few of them up on the trees. A place for Kids to go "Wooo....Koalas"

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Koala at their natural best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Koalas are by nature rather sleepy and nocturnal animals. The best time to visit them is really toward the evening but that's towards closing time. I went there around 4:00pm and we were treated with one hyper active koala who decided to go for a walk on the boardwalk. That really made the day for us.
Please note that most of the time, you will see the koalas curled up like a fur ball sleeping. Do not expect to be able the touch the koalas or carry them here. The koalas here are kept as 'wild as possible' and the rangers are very protective of the koalas (which is a good thing). It is a conservation centre, so don't expect to be entertained here. The beauty of this place is that they try to keep this habitat as natural as possible. It was a very nice experiece as you get to understand more about the koalas and how they live in the wild. The Phillips island used to be quite isolated and there were no koalas on this island. As the population of the koalas started to dwindle on the mainland, 2 conservationists started created this consercation on the island. Go for the guided tour and you will lean much more. It was a very nice learning experience for my family.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well...we did see koalas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It has a few sleepy, visible koalas; a decent variety of birds (if you're into bird-watching); overpriced merchandise.

Mostly, it was just a long walk through a patch of gum and paperbark trees.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koala Conservation Centre also viewed

Summerlands, Phillip Island
 

Been to Koala Conservation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koala Conservation Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.