We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not somewhere id visit twice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phillip Island Wildlife Park

Phillip Island Wildlife Park
2115 Phillip Island Road, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
(03) 59 522 038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not somewhere id visit twice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

it was quite boring...looked rundown, some of the exhibits were closed or empty, if you like animals and wide open spaces then you might like it here but i didnt sorry

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    47
    24
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gippsland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Animal Prison?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Have visited this park several times over the years with school camps and it just has not got any better! While the kids enjoyed the free roaming kangaroos, the place looks like it needs a dam good clean up. The animal enclosures, look far too small particularly for those birds of prey. This is no longer on our school camp itinerary!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“It is good to go there in bad weather conditions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

If it s too windy or rainy it is good to be in the building which is at the wild life enterance. There are big windows to watch to beautiful view .

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Animal Interaction at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was absolutely thrilled with this Wildlife Park. You are given a bag of pellets and released into a park where you can wander around and find Roos and Wallabies to hand feed. They are fairly gentle, though many of them will hold onto your hand while feeding them - so I'd maybe be a bit cautious with very young children. We spent most of our time in the back paddock, past the Tasmanian Devils as we were the only ones that were out there and the Kangaroos were less pushy. Be prepared for lots of flies and a slobbery hand by the time you leave, but its all part of the experience.

I would go back in a heartbeat!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rather Run Down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Fortunately the aminals seemed well cared for but the site was very run down and need of clean up.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillip Island Wildlife Park also viewed

Summerlands, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Phillip Island Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillip Island Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.