We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pass” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar

Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar
145 Thompson Avenue, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
0359522741
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 50 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
“A pass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Visited Mexican restaurant with another family (4 adults & 5 kids) we ordered a nachos to get us started - it was very good.

Mains were ok but nothing we couldn't cook at home. The prices were very expensive for a family type restaurant.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was by far the worst Mexican food I had ever eaten. I really think they went to the supermarket down the street for all the ingredients. Poor service; we really couldn't understand why they were turning people away when there were oodles of empty tables in the restaurant and outside tables were mostly empty, claiming they were booked. We were there a little over an hour an no one came in to fill these tables. They insisted you needed a booking to come in....very strange. The service was poor and the food was incredibly overpriced for mexican food. They really need help managing this place. I do believe they should employ about 5 Mexicans to show them how to do it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Big servings, ok food, worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Came here with wife and 2.5 yo. Atmosphere was kitschy Mexican which was fine. Staff friendly and service good. Food was ok. They had high chairs and a small kids menu. Some booths which is great but a bit cramped getting in and out of them.

We shared nachos for entree which were big and very generous on the cheese (not just the top but covered throughout). Very light on sour cream, salsa and guacamole though, so ratio not great. You're left with just cheese corn chips for a large part of the dish.

I ordered the trail blazer of chicken wings, sausage, ribs with BBQ sauce and "bigger than Texas" potato. Potato was smallish, but meal big. A bit one dimensional in flavor but probably my fault in what I ordered. I should have ordered Mexican! I've had much better ribs.

Nothing special but worth a visit if you're feeling like Mexican.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Friendly staff nice atmosphere good sized portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Right from entering the restaurant we were greeted with smiles by the staff shown to our table menus given and the drink order taken. Opened the menu to read meals when busy may take up to one hour, a little off putting however with a group with plenty to talk about so no problems. Our young smiling and full of life waitress returned to take our orders.The meals arrived in around 20 minutes to our surprise and they were huge good sized portions defiantly great value.
Then the taste test right from the first bite we all looked at each other great flavour we would all defiantly come back for another meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average food, average service, prepare to be underwhelmed! Ambience also very poor for a Mexican restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went here with some friends after Tough Mudder Phillip Island and even though this place was very quiet the service was really stale, waitress showed no personality and had to force a smile. I suppose she wanted to be elsewhere? Food was OK, but for the quality, well overpriced. I hope they don't employ a Chef, the people we were with also commented they could have done much better at home and that was the general consesus from all at the table. Wouldn't go back again as there are plenty of better restaurants to try in Cowes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panhandle Tex Mex Eatery & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.