We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lone Pine Bistro

Lone Pine Bistro
Phillip Island RSL | 225-243 Thompson Ave, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
03-5952-1004
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 49 Restaurants in Cowes
Price range: $5 - $41
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Our goal is to provide you the best possible service, quality food and beverage products with a warm welcoming atmosphere. Located in Cowes our fantastic refurbished venue features modern comfortable surrounds with a great range of food and entertainment options.Our 220 seat dining area features an alfresco balcony; highly visible children's play room and a fantastic new menu at affordable prices. Our wine list features the best of our local wineries along with a great range of Australian favourites and quality house wines.
1 review
“Crap food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had a terrible meal my parmi was grilled not fried and baked coulnt belive it I have been a chef for five years and haven't seen any thing like it. I think the chefs should be sacked.. my 5 yr old could do a betta job... My family was very dissatisfiedy one yr old was licking the tomato sauce off the nuggets witch Says alot

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    37
    24
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“My son was left starving.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We ate at the Phillip island rsl today. The food was the worst food we have ever eaten I have had better side salad and chicken burger from maccers. My 1 year old son waited 45mins for his lunch every adult was served befor him we were offered refund for his meal then every staff member avoided us until we left with out our refund. His chicken nuggets were like grey tasteless rocks. I would be ashamed to serve this food.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Strip
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Easy Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Foods generally good, the big dining area can be a little loud but thats what you would expect in places like this. Staff are friendly and if you like pokies there is those too. Senoirs meals are great too - according to my inlaws.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniliquin, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Staff cope well with the large numbers of patrons in peak times.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

In mid Jan (school hols) we went here for dinner on a Wednesday night, during our holiday. It was so busy we couldn't get a table for over 30 mins... so we booked for the following night instead.
.
The following night, we attended & the food was EXCELLENT and the staff coped well with the masses of patrons.
.
The venue was great, as were the staff, but I would not go back again during peak times owing to the long delays.. from getting a table to buying a drink.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Standard RSL fare with a few twists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited with 2 children and were seated near the small play area which was great. The kids also received a menu which served as a colouring activity and crayons. Good meal options, the standards- roast, parma, fish and chips, and garlic prawns as well as a few surprises such as stuffed chicken with camembert and prosciutto, pork belly and a haloumi and beef burger with onion jam. Bookings are a must- we rang at 4pm on a Wednesday and couldn't get a table till 8pm so we reserved one for the next night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhillipIslandRSL, Public Relations Manager at Lone Pine Bistro, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Our menu offers patrons several standard "old favourites" as well as dishes that are influenced by our team of international chefs promising a few surprises! We have the belief that everyone should have a good time at our RSL so if we can keep the kids happy, then hopefully we keep you happy too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Pine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lone Pine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lone Pine Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.