We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pino's Trattoria

Pino's Trattoria
29 Thompson Ave., Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 5952 2808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Cowes
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Established in 1991 family run restaurant with the love of good food and service, with big open spaces, different levels for enjoying Traditional Italian Cuisine. Great for small large family groups.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Basic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a noisy, touristy, large place with good basic Italian food. It was the only place that was quite full in the main street of Cowes on a cold Winter night. The spaghetti napoli was very good and it is not easy to get this right.
There was a group of about 8 5 year old girls at a table celebrating and the waitress wanted to put my sister and i near them and she seemed exasperated when i wanted to sit away from them, even though there was space in the other section. She did place us elsewhere but it set the tone for the evening.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa S, Owner at Pino's Trattoria, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank You for your review, being a tourist destination it can be at times difficult to predict how busy we will be especially during our low peak times of the year, the winter season. We do aim to accommodate for everyone's requests, my staff may have felt the night was getting busier and wanted to better control the floor & felt that it would be easier to manage the area in one condense space. I am not completely sure however I be sure to bring this up in our next meeting. However I was happy to read you enjoyed your pasta. Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    72
    19
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff / Reasonable Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We dined here on Friday night. We hadn't made a booking but the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The food was reasonably good for a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa S, Owner at Pino's Trattoria, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, Pino's has a passionate group of people and our goal is to always maintain and provide quality service & food. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Below expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Ordered The Lot and Napoltana pizzas, Cannelloni and Gamberi. We were the only table during lunch and service was alright. Food was average. ..the pizza- the lot was too wet, resulting in soggy base. Had better Italian food at Batesman Bay-Sam Pizzerian. They charge for wifi which was rather ridiculous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa S, Owner at Pino's Trattoria, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you, we take all reviews on board and share them with our team. We appreciate your input on the service and food and will be looking into your thoughts. Thanks again for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best food on Phillip Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Felt the amazing atmosphere as soon as we stepped in the door. Were well accommodated by the friendly staff immediately. Food was very reasonably priced, and extremely tasty with large, filling servings. Cheap byo corkage! Despite closing up for the night, they were still happy to keep serving when we ordered a late dessert. We were recommended to come here, and glad we did. Good location, and suited for dining after penguin Parade. Full of grand prix memorabilia.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa S, Owner at Pino's Trattoria, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I was humbled from reading your heading "Best food on Phillip Island" it was a generous compliment, Thank You. We appreciate all feedback to ensure that what we do is received with a positive experience. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed dinner here after the penguin parade. We didnt book but they accommodated us nicely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was delicious. Lovely family environment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa S, Owner at Pino's Trattoria, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us, we love to hear about everyone's experience with us and am happy that our passion for what we do was shared with you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pino's Trattoria also viewed

 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Pino's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pino's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.