We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest food. Competitive pricing. Friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pino's Trattoria

Pino's Trattoria
29 Thompson Ave., Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 5952 2808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 restaurants in Cowes
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Established in 1991 family run restaurant with the love of good food and service, with big open spaces, different levels for enjoying Traditional Italian Cuisine. Great for small large family groups.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Honest food. Competitive pricing. Friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Marinara pizza and morten bug risotto are highly recommend. Yummy. The risotto migh not be al-den-te enough for Italian, but we like it. We found the chocolate tart serving is on the smaller side.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    63
    56
    16
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best home made gnocchi and rocket salad in Australia!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Friendly service, great for kids looking forward to the nutella pizza!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa S, Owner at Pino's Trattoria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Wow! thank you for your review!! We are very greatful to have such generous reviews about what we do here and it only drives us to continue doing what we love to do. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Bustling Family Trattoria with something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great for a quick meal when the kids don't want to wait. We arrived at around 6pm on a Saturday night and a queue was forming at the door - a good sign that we were in the right place.

We were seated quickly and there was a good choice of wines and food on the menu.

I absolutely enjoyed my Veal Saltimboca with "smashed' broccoli - three pieces of tender veal with proscuitto atop a mound of garlic broccoli and a lemony beurre blanc sauce - yum!. My 7 year old daughter loved the arrancini - crisp rice balls filled with italian veg and mozzarella in napoli sauce. My friend's pumpkin gnocchi disappeared before I could sample it, and her son's pizza look fabulous and was virtually inhaled. With a great bottle of wine and a couple of drinks for the kids, the bill came to $97 for 4 people. Pretty good value I'd say.

Not the place for a romantic night perhaps, but a great friendly welcome and good honest Italian fare.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa S, Manager at Pino's Trattoria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed review i loved reading it! I was very pleased to know that you all enjoyed your experience with us, i can see that you also selected some of our signature dishes!! Thank you again for taking the time to review us and hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Cowes and excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Pinos was very very good. Great food, great service, and at a great price!

My wife and I dined here on a Sunday night. Yes it wasn't very busy at about 50%, but we were seated straight away and served promptly.

The prices were about average but very reasonable. We had pizza and pasta and was the nicest Carbonara we've had in a long time! Pizza was great as well!

Thank you for a great experience. We will bring our friends and family back next time!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa S, Owner at Pino's Trattoria, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank You for your review, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your meals & experience with us and that you will spread the word to your family and friends. We also appreciate the photos you have uploaded, they look great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best Place in Cowes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Visited Pino's on a cold winter night following a long day trip to the island. Had pretty high expectations for this pizza joint and it lives up to it. From the moment I walked I the door sourcing a takeaway menu I was promptly greeted, shown a menu and welcomed to direct any queries I had to the guy making the pizzas who also prompty greeted me politely. After sussing out the sizes and prices I decided to go a large with the lot and was surprised when it was ready to eat in only 10 minutes. It turned out to be really awesome. Flavour central on this pizza. Only compliant was that it was on the smaller side of a large pizza so if you are hungry up it to a family size.
Highly recommend a Pinos pizza for a relaxed night in with a bottle of wine.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pino's Trattoria also viewed

 
Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Pino's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pino's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.