We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very odd place. One to avoid.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gullivers Wine Bar & Eatery

Gullivers Wine Bar & Eatery
66 Thompson Avenue, Cowes, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
03 5952 5019
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 50 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very odd place. One to avoid.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went to Gullivers for a meal and almost walked straight out of the door. The staff made you feel like you were an inconvenience and stupid. There was a printed menu and menus on blackboards. We opted for items on the blackboard assuming we would order and then have the food served to us at the tables. We were abruptly told that the blackboard menus were for takeaways only so we would be served our food in boxes. We didn't really understand why they couldn't just serve the food on a plate for us - it would have been easier for them due to the number of empty containers left on the table. In keeping with the takeaway theme which was served in a restaurant setting we were given flimsy plastic cutlery which broke several times. A weird concept I didn't quite understand. We wanted vinegar and the staff stood over us while we used it and snatched it away after. Really, we weren't interested in stealing it.

The food that was served to our group of 5 ranged from mediocre to poor. The fish and chips were mediocre, the schnitzel burgers were sodden with grease, and the roast chicken was just skin and bone. It was all just a bit of a faff for the sake of poor food.

The saving grace were the desserts. The caramel slice and cherry cake went down well. These were served on crockery and with a metal teaspoon. Oh the luxury.

This restaurant is need of saving from itself. It seems to not be sure if it is a takeaway/restaurant/bar and due to the lack of clarity about what the customer has to do in order to get served, the staff could at least be supportive and not condescending.

If you're a restaurant - serve the meals on plates at the table and have polite waiters. If you are a takeaway - don't thrust an a la carte menu in your customers' faces. If you are both, then make it clear what a customer must do to make their choice. The alternative is just not to bother.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    36
    26
    20
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bad staff attitude, really bad food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

There was 9 of us who had breaky there this morning.
The food was very bad quality- we couldn't tell if there was any bacon on the fat- it was just disgusting.
We had to move inside because the seagulls were attacking us- & then one of us accidentally dropped their fork & the waiter had a go at us!
Never again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Mediocre on a good day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This indoor/outdoor restaurant and cafe is located on a prominent corner in the heart of Cowes shopping strip. Thus it attracts a lot of passing trade. But I have found it to be very patchy in the quality of its service and food, and as a local, I avoid it nowadays. I have had an OK meal here, but have endured terrible coffee and mediocre cake. The service was not good on any occasion when I have visited. There seems to be a motley collection of young service staff, whom I suspect have little or no experience. There does not seem to be anyone in charge. Staff are often seen to be chatting among themselves instead of concentrating on prompt, courteous service. When you arrive at the cafe you walk through the outdoor eating area to a U-shaped counter which appears rather barren and is often unattended. You order at the end of the U, while milkshakes and icecreams are served from one arm of it. The indoor eating area is off to the other side, through a doorway. Unfortunately the indoor cafe is rather dark and depressingly gloomy. On a pleasant day, eating outside is fine. However, I have found that the coffee, apart from tasting terrible, is invariably tepid or downright cold. There are many better alternatives in Cowes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, fast and friendly service, but coffee could have been better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Overall a good experience, the breakfast was well cooked and the service was fast and friendly. My wife and I both founfd the coffee to be too bitter for our longer and was only average. We found a much better coffee spot elsewhere but still a nice place to stop and eat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had dinner here after our Penguin Parade so arrived about 7.30/8pm. We were the only diners & were seated beside the warm log fire which was much appreciated on a cold windy night. Although we were the only diners we didn't feel we were being rushed out & enjoyed our meal. Good value too as they had a free entrée special.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullivers Wine Bar & Eatery also viewed

Cowes, Phillip Island
Cowes, Phillip Island
 
Cowes, Phillip Island
 

Been to Gullivers Wine Bar & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gullivers Wine Bar & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.