We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baronga Motor Inn

Baronga Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baronga Motor Inn
35-39 Murray Street, Colac, Victoria 3250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Colac
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It is what it is...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is basic. I paid $135 p/n for a spa suite. It seemed like a standard room with a dated corner spa in the bathroom. In my opinion the price was a little steep however I was there on business for one night and it served it's purpose.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We were arriving into Melbourne airport late so stopped here on the way to the Great Ocean Road. The office had closed when we arrived and there was some confusion about our reservation. Luckily this was quickly resolved and we went to the room. It was fine - nothing special and quite old fashioned, but good value for the price paid. The beds were comfortable and they do have a new TV with digital channels.

This motel is fine for a night stopover.

The pool was closed for Winter but looked horrible!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We needed somewhere to stay for the easter weekend and since all of Great Ocean Road was booked out and we left it till the last minute we stayed in the middle of Colac. Not much to do in this little town but it was nice getaway for the family.

We had ordered breakfast to be delivered to our room the next morning but they missed some, they were very nice about it and we didn't mind at all.

Rooms were small for a family but worth the amount we paid and clean which is all we needed. Only downside was that the pool was closed for the winter and the restaurant was closed for the easter break.

Staff were very nice and did anything they could to make us comfortable.
Would stay again just to get away for a night, cozy little town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giffard
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Best site in Colac, Economical, clean, comfy bed and no trouble from other users or the locals. would like to see a 4 star venue in town but this is next best thing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Beds Comfortable..fridge well stocked and they allowed us to sleep in after a big night! Only problem shower could do with an update..wonky shower door!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2008

This place was wonderful.

The rooms were great, the food was great, the weather was wonderful, even though they had little to do with that.

The best part was there was a chicken bar down the street where you could go and screw chickens. I had a great time there. Best chicken tang in my experience.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — nothing, it was great.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,118 reviews 1,118 reviews
293 hotel reviews
Reviews in 303 cities Reviews in 303 cities
2,607 helpful votes 2,607 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

The Baronga Motor Inn's decor may be a little dark but it is still among the more acceptable class of Australian motel.

The male proprietor deserves top marks for being a friendly chap.

Although there were some tradesmen staying overnight I was not disturbed in the slightest by any noise: I slept soundly.

Checking in and out was a breeze.

I received the impression that the owners cared about this place and that they trusted their guests. I hope most guests reciprocate this level of trust which makes for a pleasant relationship between proprietor and business people or tourists.

  • Liked — Proprietor's friendly attitude
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baronga Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baronga Motor Inn

Address: 35-39 Murray Street, Colac, Victoria 3250, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Colac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Colac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Best Western Colac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baronga Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Baronga Motor Inn to your Saves list