We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic playground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colac Botanic Gardens

Colac Botanic Gardens
Fyans Street, Colac, Victoria, Australia
03 - 5232 9400
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Colac
Attraction details
Melbourne
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic playground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We didn't plan on stopping but were very glad we did. We thoroughly enjoyed a play on a great variety of equipment and in a lovely location. There are toilets nearby to the playground which is always handy.
Overlooks the Colac lake, very pretty. Gates close around 4pm into the Botanical Gardens but the playground area is still open after that so you can enjoy dinner there also if the weather permits.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

It is stunning ever thing was amazing, By the way the little cafe is amazing and it has one of the best pumpkin soup in Australia. It also has a fantastic view over the Colac Lake

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
112 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had some visitors from Sydney and decided to take a day trip to Colac and do the Otway Fly returning to Melbourne via the Great Ocean Rd we stopped off at the information centre in the town and the ladies there were most helpful. We went to the Botanical Gardens for lunch. It is situated on a beautiful lake . very pleasant surroundings and full of bird life . The gardens have all the amenities BBQ toilets etc and is well worth a stop off..

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Such beautiful gardens with old heritage-listed trees, everything beautifully manicured, flat walking paths, nice views over the Colac Lake and friendly people.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Walk or Drive, you choose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Have visited the gardens on may occasions. Its usually very peaceful with lovely views of the Lake . I would often drive my mother through the gardens , when she was no longer able to walk.
We love to visit the little cafe at the western end of the gardens , on a nice day you can sit out on the deck and enjoy the gardens and the lake with a glass of bubbles or a meal

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colac Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Colac Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colac Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.