We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt right at home here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elms Bed and Breakfast

The Elms Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Elms Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Elms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
14 Gellibrand St, Colac, Victoria 3250, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Colac B&B and Inns
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Felt right at home here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We just drove off from the Elms feeling rested and well-looked after.

Our room was comfortable, clean and well-presented in 1800s period style.

Owner Carmen was an immaculate host who helped with our queries about sites to visit, and cooked up a fantastic breakfast.

Breakfast in the kitchen was a very pleasant experience and we had a invigorating conversation with her other guests from Prague.

Our two children were made to feel welcomed and thoroughly got converted to a B and B experience.


Thoroughly recommend the Elms!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A lovely heritage home, with well looked after and clean rooms. Carmen (the owner) is very kind and caring, and reminds you of a nanna or mother figure. A delicious breakfast with all the trimmings was offered in the morning, and she helped us with all our needs making us feel very welcome :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Elms is a beautiful home situated in the heart of Colac. Located two minutes from the main road The Elms offers access to everything you need and provides a comfortable place to rest/relax. The host (Carmen) has impeccable manners and makes you feel instantly at home. The home itself is clean and comfortable with everything you need. The bedrooms are large and beautifully presented. Ample space and facilities makes The Elms a truly lovely place to stay. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

房间很漂亮 浴室不在套件内 但有单独浴室,有公用客厅和厨房和餐厅,居家装修 很舒适 老太太亲自做的早餐很棒,花园很大,离开购物街,去吃饭,超市,走路7-8分钟,十分方便。

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here one night as we had a wedding nearby and Carmen, the host was fantastic. Made you feel right at home and made a lovely breakfast in the morning. The house is huge and the room was very spacious, we had our own bathroom. The actual house dates back to the late 1800's I think and has quite a rich history.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

A lovely spot in Colac. Close to town and the botanic gardens but also very quiet. Beautiful historic building and rooms. We stayed in room with ensuite but I think other rooms have shared bathrooms. Our room much smaller than others but lovely big bathroom with deep tub made up for it. Friendly host welcomes you into her kitchen rather than keeping guests separate from family home is a nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent one night here when we were going back to Melbourne after visiting the great ocean road. It's a good place to stay. The house is historical but well keep. The room is fine and tidy. And the most important thing is the friendly hostess Carmen who make us feel just like at our home. Carmen,this is to thank you again for your wonderful hospitality and your sweet grapes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14 Gellibrand St, Colac, Victoria 3250, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Colac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Colac
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elms Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.