We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant country motel with friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glider City Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glider City Motel to your Saves list
Glider City Motel
2 Witt Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benalla
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Pleasant country motel with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A typical country town motel. It's a few hundred meters out of town which makes it a bit quieter than others. They're happy for you to bring bikes into your room which is always a bonus. They also have secure storage for them during the day if you're not riding.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
8
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June, was clean, tidy and warm. Is good for an overnight stopover, but a little noisy being right next to a main road. Also, it's a bit further away from places to eat, we found there wasn't anything within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time this trip due to other motel I usually stay in being booked out. Clean and tidy rooms. Value for money is very good and a fairly good location as well. Only a short drive into town for a meal. Would quite happily stay here again in the future. Also very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have regularly travelled through this region in recent years and I'm glad to have found this motel. It has met all my needs both as a one-night stopover on a work-related trip and more recently as a three night-stopover to visit the region. There are nice touches here as the management seeks to make visitors feel at home and well-pro0vided for. Not only are the
rooms of good size, usefully furnished with table and chairs, comfortable sofa and comfortable beds, the bathroom is clean and well-equipped. As I cannot seem to live without my computer the Wi-fi facility here was so valuable. Of particular use on every visit has been the advice about eateries. With its good location, good facilities, friendly and helpful service, I will happily book at this motel every time I travel through this region.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Glider City now on two occasions and found it to be very warm and comfortable just what I need prior to traveling to Winton Raceway for our track day.

Looking forward to my next stay at Glider City.

Regards

Dirk

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt. gambier
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at The Glider City overnight recently as my motorbike had broken down on the Hume Hwy, Racv made the booking for me and dropped me and my bike there late in the evening. I had the last room in the complex but despite being busy Michael the host made sure all my needs were met for me personally and to make sure my bike could be repaired the next day. An absolute relief as I was still 1000kms from home and needed to get home urgently. He even lent me his car the next morning to source parts. Trusting helpful accomodating friendly. The spa room was spotlessly clean warm and comfortable. This experience turned around for me what could have been an inconvenient disaster into a positively memorable stay. Do youself a favour and stay at this motel. Thanks again Michael.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Travelling through country Victoria over the Christmas New Year period, we booked a Deluxe Spa Room (Room 1) for an overnight stay. We were checked in by one of the owners and he was a very friendly host. He was happy to recommend local restaurants and pubs for dinner as they don't have restaurant facilities on-site plus we were from Sydney and didn't know the area. Our room was a great size, spotless in every respect and had obviously just been refurbished with new carpet and linen, etc. All this, plus the extra little extra touches like a coffee plunger, quality tea, coffee and chocolates set this motel apart from the rest. Although located a little further from town than other accommodation in Benalla it is still only a short drive to restaurants, pubs, etc. We would highly recommend Glider City Motel for an overnight stay or longer. For families, they also have a pool and outdoor area plus a large selection of videos which would be great if it was a rainy day. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1 if it is available. It is a great size and also has a large spa bath. Although clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glider City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glider City Motel

Address: 2 Witt Street, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Benalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest motel in Benalla (opened 1992). Excellent facilities catering for corporates or travelers. Quiet location away from freeway. Wireless broadband or dial-up internet. Large rooms. Modern decor and bathrooms. Free AUSTAR TV. Spa rooms with flat-screen HDTV. Charge-backs accepted. Room-service breakfasts. Stroll to shops, eateries, gardens, art gallery. Swimming pool, BBQ, ground floor rooms, parking at door. Local airport 500metres. Train 1.5km. Victorian snowfields 120km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Glider City Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glider City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glider City Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.