We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avondel Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Avondel Motor Inn to your Saves list
Avondel Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Bridge Street West, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Benalla
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed for one night on our way from Geelong to Sydney, Brendan was very welcoming. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the bathroom was nearly brand new. For the price this hotel was excellent value and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Loved our stay at the Avondel Motor Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortable with modern decor. Staff were friendly and welcoming. On a very warm day the pool was a lovely way to relax and unwind after a long drive. Walked to the hotel down the road for dinner on the recommendation of the motel managers (good pub food, friendly service), walked around the lake and botanic gardens. Would have liked to have stayed longer as we found Benalla to be a beautiful town with friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We accidentally found ourselves stuck in Benalla after some car issues and I can't recommend this motel and the town more highly. For an affordable price and without a booking I sauntered in and was told we could have the room we parked in front of and the man on the desk (assuming manager/owner) just handed me the keys and wished me a nice stay without requiring me to sign one hundred documents, or hand over my credit card details.
We didn't try the food but ate in town and we found the people there just as friendly as the hotel staff.
The room was basic but comfortable and clean and the night we were there was quite cold so the electric blanket was a welcome addition.
We were only there one night with the super friendly exhaust guy working through the night to get our car ready for the rest of the trip but I really enjoyed my stay in the small Victorian town I had never previously heard of.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stopped off here on a Sydney to Adelaide trip. It was perfect for a one night stop over. Rooms have been recently renovated and are very clean and quiet. Walking distance to pub and bottle shop - perfect! There is also the botanic gardens and a park within a short walking distance from the hotel. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Avondale is not only the best value in Benalla but it is also in the middle of doin up rooms, which makes it seem so much nicer.

Tv with Austar and built in DVD player, microwave, fridge, toaster and kettle. Lovely!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Warm welcome, comfortable room, good location near the park, art gallery and a few historic buildings. Breakfast served in a comfy dining room - we were perfectly happy with the selection and price.

Overall, this was the best-value stay we had in a month in Oz, and Benalla was a pleasant surprise (excluding restaurants!).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Victoria
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This motel offers everything. Great service--Simone and Brendan are the best ever hosts- gorgeous newly vamped decorated rooms, plenty of car parking, central to everything and most of all....warm and welcoming. Would recommend anytime!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalla
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Benalla
Comfort Inn Benalla
#3 of 5 in Benalla
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
23.6 mi away
Hermitage Motor Inn
Hermitage Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Wangaratta
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
23.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Glider City Motel
Glider City Motel
#1 of 5 in Benalla
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Executive Hideaway Motel
0.9 mi away
Top of the Town Motel
Top of the Town Motel
#1 of 3 in Benalla
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondel Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondel Motor Inn

Address: 21 Bridge Street West, Benalla, Victoria 3672, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Benalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Benalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avondel Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Avondel Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avondel Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.