We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good b & b in Apollo Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apollo Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
54 Nelson Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good b & b in Apollo Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nelson's Perch is within easy walking distance of Apollo Bay, mid way down the Great Ocean Road. Apollo Bay is nothing special, but is a convenient stop off point if heading from Melbourne to Port Fairy. Nelson's Perch is clean and comfortable. The rooms are modern and have a private courtyard. There are some nice touches such as whisky and port on offer in the lounge, but breakfast is a bit simple (cereal, yoghurt, toast, no fruit). The hosts are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
85
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sevilla
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you have ever felt trapped in your room with just a TV and an electric kettle to keep you company? if so this the place for you. The owner realizes that today people can and like to fend for themselves so everything is there, laid on for you, and yet at the same time he gives you a friendly and welcoming service. Great experience and great hotel, lots of great details, unlikely that we will return to this part of the world, but would highly recommend this as a great place to stay B&B.

Room Tip: The bedroom is on the small size, but there is a great terrace, so maybe not at its best in the rain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry62, Owner at Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your amazing review on our B&B,it is very comforting for us to read comments so positive about how we are going about welcoming and looking after our valued guests.
It gives us confidence to keep on improving our hospitality for guests in the future.
Thank you again.

Regards Wayne & Gabrielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights with another couple in mid-November. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The location was great, just down the road from town - though probably still want to drive in for dinner etc. Being on the edge of town we appreciated being able to walk along the quiet roads in the morning, bird watching and enjoying the lovely views of the countryside. The breakfast included lovely home made baked goods as well as the usual fare of cereals and toast. The owners happened to be away while we were there and some friends were looking after the place, which leads to my only minor quibble - our rooms were not tidied up during the day, just left as is. Even in a B&B one expects the beds to be made up. Not a big deal and probably only resulting from the owners not being on site during our visit. Didn't spoil our trip - you better not travel if that would do it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

If you're looking for somewhere classy and well appointed and away from the noisy trashy main drag (such as it is) of Apollo Bay then this is definitely the spot for you.

We were greeted by our enthusiastic and charming host Wayne, and shown into about the cleanest place I've ever seen (and with my OCD about cleaning, trust me I was looking closely). I can confirm earlier reviews: this place is immaculate and spotless. The rooms are large and comfortable, with high quality bed-linen and all mod-cons (TV/DVD player, Air-Con, iPod dock), and private terraces opening from huge patio windows.

I have to mention the bathrooms. Not only are they gleaming, but they have twin showers in huge cubicles. I've experienced some fantastic large hotel showers, but never one with two individual showers on either side, meaning you can both shower together and have control over your own temperature. Whoever thought of this is a genius, and it's an inspired touch.

As for breakfast - top class home made muffins, fresh baked bread, good quality selection of cereals, and a dozen types of tea. Excellent.

Wayne is clearly passionate about this place and it shows in all the little details. He was happy to give advice on where to go for food, what activities to do, sites not to miss, and I can't recommend him and this place highly enough.

Room Tip: there are only three, and having seen two of them there's nothing to worry about with either of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in Apollo bay for two nights at Nelson's B&B, Everything was absolutely perfect. The room is very (I mean, really!) clean and looks great. The bed is perfect with a bed heater for nights really cold. The shower is fantastic with two independent outputs (double shower). The breakfast area is amazing with nice furniture and a high quality glassware. The home made bread is delicious! Very close to the town centre / main street and several restaurants/cafe's. The owners are the cherry on top of this nice place, just book an weekend there and be happy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Due to unforeseen circumstances, my boyfriend and I were not able to to make it to Apollo Bay and only found out the morning of our booking. Usually that would mean forfeiting at the very least a deposit, if not the entire cost of the room, but Wayne very graciously refunded me for the night.

It's rare to find a place to stay with such integrity, and I can't wait to actually make it to Nelson's Perch next time! We will certainly be visiting as soon as possible.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Wayne and very thrilled to find such a clean and comfortable B&B in a quiet yet not isolated street in Apollo Bay. Everything was immaculate and Wayne made us feel like honoured guest in his home. Breakfast was great right down to the home baked bread.
Fantastic double shower with a good flow, not like those mean spiky shower heads you usually get.
Would definitely recommend Nelson's Perch for a well priced getaway. Thanks.
Jan and Brenden

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry62, Owner at Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Jan & Brenden
Thank you fror your excellent review,it is great that you take the time to sit down and write a review it really goes a long way to making our Small B&B a success.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay,see you in the future with another Nelsons Perch stay.

Regards Wayne & Gabrielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast

Address: 54 Nelson Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelson's Perch Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.