We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Coastal Motel to your Saves list
Coastal Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   171 Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Coastal Motel is the perfect example of country hospitality: upon arrival, the friendly owner took time to help us familiarize with the area, suggesting a couple of things to do over our stay.

Although coming from Melbourne, I was pleased to be greeted and welcomed this way, as a newbie to the Great Ocean Road: I mean, they probably repeat themselves with every guest that walks in, but the fact that we weren't taken for granted just because we live nearby was a nice sign of commitment towards the clientele.

Aside from that, the accommodation was pretty standard, with clean spacious rooms and a comfy bed. In all honesty, I did find it a bit overpriced, but not having directly booked myself (my partner did all the research), I can't really say whether it's actually pricey or just in line with the competition.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Myself and my partner went for two nights in May 2012. We were skeptical as it was cheaper than we thought but what a surprise! When we arrived we were welcomed by the most pleasant owner. He was a delight. Full of helpful information and a thorough map of the local area. Our room was MASSIVE- fair enough the decor isn't fully up to date but I am an interior designer and thought it was a beautiful seaside inspired room. Extremely clean and comfy, Air-con (cold and heat) great flat screen TV, kitchen full of EVERYTHING you need for your stay, and even a welcome basket of tea, coffee and biscuits! On our last morning we sat in the reception for an hour chatting away about our stay. The owner is a lovely family man who loves to travel and with advise on anything you need help with.

P.s- the bed was the comfiest we have slept on in the 10 months of being in Australia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

What a pleasure to be welcomed! Ideal set up - double downstairs and mezzanine with single and bunks. (They have four of these units, as well as standard configurations)

We had a bathtub as well as a shower, another bonus for kids.

Otherwise all as expected. No complaints at all, and a fair price in what is an expensive town (we were quoted a 'special' price in Best Western which was 80 bucks more, and only offered a foldout for the third child)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in its Family room during the Easter weekend. I thought that it was very decent and spacious for the five of us. I would stay here again next time. We didn't hear our neighbors talking and the receptionist was quite friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel as there are better similar priced hotels in the area. The receptionist was unhelpful and rooms are very dated. The walls were so thin that we couldn't get to sleep for the noise of our neighbour snoring.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Walked in at 5:30pm and they were happy to have us.
Little motel with 15 rooms only - a few different configurations. Payed an extra $10 for a room with a spa.
Bathrooms are a little dated - but not as much as your usual motel.
Very clean, very affordable.
Aircon (cooling only) and gas fire in each room, very well equipped kitchenette (no hotplates).
Wonderful, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were travelling the GOR on our bikes and were very hot and tired so we decided to stay close and have some luxury rather than camp at a caravan park. We were offered special bike parking and were personally shown to our room. Very helpful fella. It was perfect for our needs and was VERY close to the beach and restaurants.

It also has laundry facilities and clothes line or dryer if you ask.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coastal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Motel

Address: 171 Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coastal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coastal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.