We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayside Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apollo Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayside Gardens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in Apollo Bay
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, warm, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Clean. Fireplace, heater and electric blankets were fabulous after a freezing day driving and sight seeing. Comfortable beds. Management was out when we phoned for a replacement electric blanket and hair dryer, but delivered them when they returned a couple of hours later. Friendly lady. We were in a front unit, but didn't hear traffic noise. Good standard 2 bed unit with kitchen and bathroom. Laundry room. Carport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stopped here on our start of the ocean road,nice accommodation if a little dated but it had everything that was required for a 1 night stopover.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

Our ocean view unit was clean, quiet and comfortable. Lovely to have 2 bedrooms and space after staying in a small unit in Melbourne. Loved the wood fire. Elska was friendly and helpful when booking and checking in.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We've stayed here many times. It's not fancy, but very comfortable and clean and the units are self contained. They have wood fires and a well-stocked wood box. Located a short walk from the town, and just across the road from the beach. We always stay in the front units which have a view of the sea. The price always seems reasonable compared to other places in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

There wasn't much reviews on accommodation in Apollo Bay, so I took a risk with this one. I chose the cheapest unit - Room 9 - that was facing the back gardens.

It was perfect! The website doesn't do this place justice. The small garden is well-kept and lovely. It's situated just by Great Ocean Road facing the sea, and a 15 minutes walk to town centre which is great during the cool Spring weather.

Elska was great, helping me to arrange a surprise birthday dinner for my partner.

We had a porch in front of our unit with a glimpse of the sea "That's what you're paying for," Elska joked.

The unit had a living room, well-equipped kitchen, living room, dining area, clean bathroom and electric blankets. It's not a luxurious accommodation, but cozy on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2005

we read what 2006's Frommer's said about his place and decided to stop on our way down the great ocean road. we agree with what was stated. we made a good choice staying here. we stayed in i think room 5. nice bay view. wood fire stove. kitchen. great value. 100 yards from the quite beach. (fyi like evey other place in town, there was a lightly traveled road between us and the beach)

The lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayside Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Gardens

Address: 219 Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayside Gardens 3.5*
Also Known As:
Bayside Gardens Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayside Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bayside Gardens to your Saves list