We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IM GLAD WE DIDNT MAKE IT!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge

Save Saved
You added Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   23 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“IM GLAD WE DIDNT MAKE IT!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I made a reservation for a 2 bedroom apartment on a Wednesday. On Thursday. Unfortunately the couple that was travelling with me cancelled. I called to cancel the reservation, the guy who answered got really upset, told me not to bother in making a reservation with them again, yelled at me and then he hung up the phone....
I cannot imagine what would have happened if we had an inquiry there. If this is how they threat their costumers on phone, I don't want to imagine how is over there.

Room Tip: Dont reccomend it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
10
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

i booked a double room in a 2-bedroom property. what attracted me to this place initially, was the 'Wifi available' in all rooms. I was led to think that wifi was provided free in the room, because it was put in one sentence together with 'TV & DVD and wifi are available in all rooms. however I was wrong. it comes with a price. then, comes the 'continental breakfast included', I wonder which part of it was continental when I only found coffee powder and tea bags in the kitchen area. last but not least, the unfriendly service from the staff. haiz, I was glad to be out of the place.
on a good note, if you are looking for spacious, ideally located lodging, this is quite good as the supermarket as just across the road and is also within walking distances to other shops and eating outlets.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliReggie, Owner at Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
If you write reviews they should have wrong or misleading information. 1st nowhere do we advertise free wifi . 2nd The photo & information regerding breakfast is incorrect. The photo is free tea & coffee supplied to apartments not breakfast. If you took the time to listen on checkin the breakfast is served in Hostel dining area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This Lodge is an old 70s motel which has been converted into a cheap lodge. It isn't really a backpackers as such. There are a variety of self contained apartments, providing one or two bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen and small living room with TV. They are not glamorous, they are in fact quite ugly, but are warm, spacious and functional. Great for a family of four adults sharing, which brings the cost down. Useful for a base to explore the area and, having a kitchen, keeping the catering cost down too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Very basic and very friendly.

Perfect for an overnight stop

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliReggie, Owner at Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
This review & almost every review for Apollo Bay Backpackers LODGE should be for Apollo Bay Backpackers 2 entirely different bussinesses and buildings in different streets.
For 3 years ive been trying to get them correctly listed . The Backpackers LODGE was formally OTWAY LODGE till I bought the bussiness & changed the name and the style of the bussiness. It is mostly apartments with a 20 bed hostel in 1 & 2 story brick buildings. Apollo Bay Backpackers operates out of 2 small cottages & dates back to 1964 the buildings are timber & fibro in residental area in a different street to the Lodge. How people can get the 2 confused is beyond me .You seem to have removed the Listing for Apollo Bay Backpackers I guess instead of removing Otway Lodge . Hope you can sort out this problem Reggie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in a self-contained two bedroom property. It was fine: it seemed clean but very dated. The sofas were pretty filthy and we washed the kitchen utensils before using (I'm not sure the previous tenants had cleaned them as well as you'd hope). It was quiet and clean enough, but I don't think it's worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I was a bit worried after reading the bad reviews given by the others and expect the worse before arriving. but surprisingly, the two bedroom apartment that we stayed is very clean,comfortable and quiet. The receptionist is very friendly. The kitchen is well equipped. A lovely place to stay with reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Our two bedroom apartment was dirty and dusty. The linen appeared clean but goodness knows what goes on on the couch. It was disgusting. The entire apartment was old, chipped, and poorly maintained. The oven did not work. All the crockery and cutlery was mismatched. We had to ask for teaspoons, wine glasses and a small pot. The staff member responded to our requests begrudingly. It was the worst accommodation on our whole two week trip, and the most expensive. Don't go there.

Room Tip: This property is advertised as a backpacker facilitiy as well. It is very noisy when the younger peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge

Address: 23 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Specialty lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Bay Backpackers Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.