We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seaside Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn The International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn The International to your Saves list
Comfort Inn The International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Great Ocean, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Seaside Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed March 26 2013 for a single night in a standard room. The owner responded positively to our request for a price match and was most helpful in every way. The room was really clean and well kept and splendidly equipped. A very comfortable night!

Good to see too on going work to keep the grounds neat and tidy. This management team is at the top of its game.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for such complimentary remarks and your positive review. You clearly enjoyed your stay and that is what we are there to ensure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    112
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
147
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay here. Rooms are comfy and very spacious. The people who run it are very helpful, even helped me get onto wifi when having their evening meal! Wifi is free by the way. Nice pool with jacuzzi too. Restaurants are within walking distance so you can leave your car parked up. Great location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
The wifi is even better since we upgraded to a new system shortly after your stay. Thank you for such a positive review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Free laundry with powder usually surprises guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here the first night after leaving Melbourne for the Great Ocean Road. The room was spotlessly clean and a good size. Everything worked fine and we slept well. Plenty of dining options close by. No issue with wifi or reception service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We aim to be the perfect spot for a stopover, so it's very pleasing to see that is how you found your stay with us. Thank you for such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was a one night stay on a road trip from Adelaide. We had not booked so was a walk in for 4 persons. The hotel was comfortable, very close to shops, pubs, restaurants and cafes. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are pleased you had such a good experience with us. Thank You for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rüsselsheim
Top Contributor
601 reviews 601 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in a big de luxe sparbathroom on the first floor. The room was tidy and well equipped,the bathroom also. The roomservice was ok, but we stayed four days. During the 4 days the bedlinen was never changed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 22. It was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay. Though we are pleased your stay was generally satisfactory, we are concerned about the linen not being changed. We can only apologise that you didn't get fresh linen on the third day, which is our policy. We have alerted our cleaning staff to this oversight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a motel, not a hotel. It is well located and my room was very clean.
They advertise free WI FI but you are only allowed 100MB on a single device. I said I needed more, and I was even prepared to pay for another code. The woman at reception gave me a lecture on the fact that 100MB is enough to check e-mails and I am not supposed to do other things, and she said that it was not possible to get another code even if I wanted to pay for it.
They advertise a free car park but the woman at reception insisted on me removing my car at check out time (10am). I just wanted to leave my car until mid-day, but apparently that didn't fit with her very strict rules ("I have a business to run, you know", she told me).
The pool is very small and in the middle of the car park, so you wouldn't choose this motel for the car park.
A good property but the attitude at reception really detracts from the value and any likelihood of coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments both complimenting our property and criticising the service you received. We have reviewed your criticisms and agree that our service was not good enough, and for that we apologise.

We think the explanation of our wifi you received at check-in was incorrect and we have addressed that with our managers. Our policy is to provide access for all the devices needed by each guest. On rare occasions when a guest reaches the limit, we provide further access. WIFI is free, and we do not charge for additional devices or access.

The car park offer did not need to be so limited. As we understand the situation, many guests were cycling in an event that day and had asked to leave cars until the event finished. We understand you were riding in this event. The manager was concerned that we would not be able to accommodate arriving guests as we had a full house that day. But the time limit should have been extended to about 2pm, ample to allow you to complete the event.

We trust you will reconsider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to provide the friendly service that is our policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

THE WIFI IS NOT FREE. You get one device and 100 MB.

The staff are rude and extremely unfriendly. They say they have a "satisfaction guarantee" but are in fact very happy to just say "no". The room inside is quite nice and the bathroom is new and nice ,but there is one major BUT: quite a few rooms have the main windows facing the street and there is just a lace curtain, so you are a bit on show at night. Our room also smelled strongly like bleach when we arrived.

The pool was also broken, but we had nothing to complain about according to the reception lady. In fact we should be grateful as the beach (IT IS NOT SWIMMEABLE) is just across the road.

Honestly the rooms are quite good, the service is some of the worst i have EVER experienced. Just pray that your room is perfect and the only interaction with the staff you have is picking up the key :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns about your stay with us. You have raised serious criticisms and we have investigated the issues with our managers. Some points may be answered more readily than others.

Our guest wifi is free. The 100MB limit is set by the provider to ensure we maintain high speed access for all guests. For most guests this satisfies their needs. Guests who reach the limit just request another access code. We provide access for all devices guests wish to use.

On curtains, your room has lightweight curtains for daytime privacy and a roll down blockout blind for night time privacy. It sounds like you didn't see the chain at the side of the window that operates the blind. This is the first time we have had this issue, so we will ensure that guests in these rooms are informed at check-in.

We can't determine what had caused the 'bleach' odour when you arrived. We use a commercial steamer to clean bathrooms, removing any need to use bleach. The only other possibility would be carpet cleaning liquids, but your room did not have carpet cleaning in the last month. We also open windows at both ends of rooms to promote fresh air flow. We work very hard to avoid any chemical odours in rooms, so are at a loss to explain this.

The pool pump had seized the day before your stay and had been sent to the repairer. We cannot operate the pool in these circumstances and apologise for the inconvenience.

Apollo Bay main beach is opposite the motel and is the swimming beach of choice for locals and visitors alike. The surf lifesaving club is located there. As far as we can establish the beach was open during your stay.

The far more difficult issue concerns your rating of our service. From discussions with our managers we understand you were upset at the limit on wifi download, interpreting that as wifi not being free. We understand you received access codes for two devices, and the offer of further access should you have reached the limit. Sometimes a strained interaction like this can test both guest patience and our service delivery. If that happened on check-in we are sorry that it spoiled your stay. The other issues noted above were not raised by you during your stay or at check out.

We stand by our satisfaction guarantee. Though you commented favourably on the room it is clear that you were dissatisfied overall. Please contact us by email and we will act on our guarantee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn The International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn The International

Address: 37 Great Ocean, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn The International 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the centre of Apollo Bay opposite the main beach. Our rooms are spacious, with modern amenities and entertainment options including large LCD, iPod dock/radio, and DVD. All of Apollo Bay's 15 pubs and restaurants are within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn The International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn The International Hotel Apollo Bay
Comfort Inn Apollo Bay
Apollo Bay Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn International
Comfort Inn The International Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn The International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.