We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn The International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn The International to your Saves list
Comfort Inn The International
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Great Ocean, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ONE NIGHT MINIMUM
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another nice place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Hotel was well placed for visiting the Ocean Road. Second best bathroom on our trip. Pool was very small, but hotel right on the beach. Room was spacious with some cutlery, glasses etc. Washing facilities. BBQ by pool did not seem to be working.

Apollo Bay is a more low key place than Lorne with fair ground attractions on the beach front. We liked it, it had a certain charm to it and loved the beach.

Easy drive to Great Ottway National Park where we saw lots of koalas sleeping in the trees and even on the ground. Visit all the small bays, a bit of a walk sometimes, but not worth missing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank You for your favourable comments on your stay with us. From your comments about the fair ground we guess you stayed early in January. We installed a new BBQ in December and it was in use all through the peak. May have been one of those ignition glitches? Our best advice is to always refer any issue to Reception; we are there to ensure you enjoy your stay. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    140
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
68
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spent one night in the most basic room the motel offered. the room was clean, spacious and looked as though it had been newly re-furbished. the bed was very comfortable, a light but sufficient breakfast of juice, toast and cereal was included in the price of the room and was delivered on-time.
the location was perfect and with off-street parking i parked my car on arrival and didn't need to use it until i left.
the staff were friendly.
The only problem we had was patchy tv reception, however this is a problem for Apollo bay rather than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for rating your stay. We appreciate the compliments both for our rooms and service. Refurbishment is a continuous challenge and we aim to keep decor and fittings up to date. Fundamentals like beds and bathrooms are always a top priority. TV reception can be patchy on free to air stations, but the satellite stations should always be clear. We hope you will come back for another stay; try a Deluxe Suite next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piddletrenthide, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel has the best location in Apollo Bay as across the road from the lovely beach.. Very friendly welcome and our room was very spacious and comfortable. Stayed for one night, but would like to have stayed longer here. Would highly recommend as a stop on the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your review and recommendation. We have been fortunate here with the spacious rooms. It has made refurbishment easy as guests generally love space. It is probably the most frequent positive comment. Your comment on friendly service is also very much appreciated by our staff. Hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed in quite a few hotels around, and they are mostly internationals or 4+ stars. In a pinch, we needed to book a place fast and within a week. Also needed one that fit a tighter budget.

From the phone call to book, right through to check out - these people managing this place were among the most pleasant you could come across. Right in the middle of the main street, I first thought that it would be fairly noisy given the location - but at night it was quiet as a mouse.

The rooms were very clean, although the spa could have been given the once over for stray hairs left by previous customers. It was quiet as we liked.

Awesome place and we will be back for a few nights....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Your rating of our service is the most rewarding for our staff. Thank you. The quality of our rooms and fittings, cleanliness and the other ratings are all important, but it doesn't add up to much without great service. Hairs in the spa bath is a failure and we apologise. We look forward to your next stay with us, and hopefully a perfect score.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night, but from the time we went to check in the experience was made so pleasant. The staff were so helpful through out the day. Our room was of a very good size, very clean, bathroom had everything you could need. Wifi is free, at last a hotel that understands service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
The best compliment is 'a hotel that understands service'. We try to provide quality rooms at a prices that give value for money. But it all comes down to service in making your stay enjoyable. Thank you for such a good rating and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Hope we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. The room was clean, large and comfortable. The only thing I found uncomfortable were the pillows. Also the extra blanket they had was stained which was unfortunate as everything else was very clean and tidy. Nevertheless we had a very relaxing holiday. The hotel is accross the road from the beach and amongst all the shops. We didn't need to use the car at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. Pillow design is a hard one. We have opted for a design that mimics a 'duck down' feel. It may have been too soft for your preference. We try to balance softer and firmer versions within the 4 pillows in the room, but that doesn't always work out. A stain on a blanket is inexcusable and we can only apologise. We hope you will come back for another break. Please mention this review when booking and we will try to make up for the blanket. And we are serious about that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a deluxe room for two nights. It was clean and spacious, however the bed was uncomfortable and creaked loudly every time you moved. Great location; walking distance to shops and beach but right next door to hotel which was loud at night with party goers. Wifi was free but you only get 100mb which was just enough to download emails and nothing else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We haven't had the observation about the bed before, and we haven't been able to replicate the creaking. The wifi is free and not limited to 100mb. Each access has that limit, but you just get another access from Reception if needed. Most guests don't need additional access. We would like you to try us again, so please mention this review when booking and we will try and compensate you for the deficiencies on this stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
0.5 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Motor Inn
Waterfront Motor Inn
#1 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#4 of 33 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn The International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn The International

Address: 37 Great Ocean, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn The International 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the centre of Apollo Bay opposite the main beach. Our rooms are spacious, with modern amenities and entertainment options including large LCD, iPod dock/radio, and DVD. All of Apollo Bay's 15 pubs and restaurants are within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn The International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn The International Hotel Apollo Bay
Comfort Inn Apollo Bay
Apollo Bay Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn International
Comfort Inn The International Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn The International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.