We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky room, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's At The Bay

Save Saved
You added Captain's At The Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Geneva
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Funky room, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Loved staying here, with its boat theme. We arrived a little late but the key was waiting for us and we were pleasantly surprised when we saw how big the room was, with a bathtub close to the bed! There is also a DVD player with DVD's you can borrow which was nice considering it was raining the evening we were there...

Continental breakfast is included, too, which is a nice change to most hotels in the region.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    78
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
166
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The location is rather nice, a little bit off the Great Ocean Road and in walking distance to the beach and neighbouring restaraunts. We booked the Captains Cottage which was lovely, and our parking spot was right next to the door of our room, which was great. We pulled in and checked in with ease, were given keys and off we went.

The room itself is rather beautiful, with an incredible bathroom with a double shower head, heat lamps, an electronic feature fireplace, a television with DVD's and a nice little sitting out area. We only stayed here for a night but the location was good and we both enjoyed it a lot. A small issue was that our bathroom light would keep switching off automatically, which was a bit of a pain when we were getting ready at the mirrors and we'd keep having to wave an arm around every 15 seconds to ensure we stayed lit up!

Another letdown (perhaps a translation issue being British) was breakfast. In the UK, a continental breakfast includes things like pastries (a crossiant or something starchy and yum). The breakfast served was a load of toast, fruit and cereal, which made me a little sad. On the plus side, they had gluten free bread which they offered to toast for my partner, so that reclaimed some points!

It wasn't the cheapest stay but it was certainly comfortable and we enjoyed it a lot. The restaurant on the corner of Great Ocean Road was also rather expensive - if you visit here I'd suggest trying to look somewhere else! We paid around $40 for some overcooked fish.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Beauty
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Could not have asked for better service from the young, professional team at Captains at the Bay. We had a great stay in a clean, comfortable, modern room with a delicious breakfast each morning and enjoyed Apollo Bay immensely despite some truly awful weather. Bed was comfy, linen high quality, location great, rooms quiet, spacious and great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We had had a long drive from Mount Gambier and by the time we reached Apollo Bay we were really tired. It was so nice to pull into Captains at the Bay. We had booked the Captains Cottage with parking right outside the front door. Very comfortable room - bed was excellent and the bathroom features good. Had a great nights sleep and next morning the breakfast was first class. Home cooked and delicious. A great stop over.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. The warm welcome we received was just beautiful, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were coming from another hotel in the same area that didn't have room for us to stay so Captain's at the Bay made sure our transition was seamless, making sure our room was organised and ready early. The rooms are spacious and modern, so clean and comfortable it's almost like being at home. The bathroom was huge and the soft, luxurious Sheriden towels were a wonderful touch. Every effort has been made by the owners and staff to make sure that the rooms are just perfect. Brekky was lovely and the dining room is gorgeous - again, so clean and modern. There was also a couple of computers with Internet access, no charge, available for guests to use which was wonderful for a quick check of emails and planning the next leg of our trip. If you are doing the Great Ocean Road, definitely stop in Apollo Bay and Captains At The Bay. The area has so much to offer and this hotel is definitely somewhere you will be happy to stay, sit back and relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. Oh, and it's so reasonably priced, you can afford to stay a couple of nights!

Room Tip: I think almost any room here will give you a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Just loved this place, in fact it was our favourite on the GOR. Everything from the warm welcome, lovely comfortable room, great location, decent brekky and wine was faultless.

To top it off, I accidently took their keys and left mine there, and someone was decent enough to drive to where I was staying in St Kilda to do a key swap with me.

Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here, a nice romantic room! Everything was spotless, no complaints at all. Would definately recommend. Only thing was loud banging doors as everyone else opened and closed their doors but I think this was due to a large family group sharing our wing hence lots of moving about between rooms!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's At The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.