We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place and close to the foreshore for a walk on the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's At The Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's At The Bay to your Saves list
Captain's At The Bay
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Cute place and close to the foreshore for a walk on the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The place was easy to find, being only one block from the foreshore. Staff were very welcoming and we were allocated a car space with the same number as our room. We stayed in Terrace 3. The room was very well presented, including two comfy chairs. Room was nice and very clean, with everything in place. Bathroom had enough towels, soap etc. Outside courtyard was good and extended the size of the unit. Would be lovely in summer. (It was raining lightly when we arrived). Beds were comfy and fitted with electric blankets. Continental breakfast next morning (included in the price of the room) was certainly sufficient. Would certainly recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Terrace 3 was in the middle of the unit block. I did not hear any traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    87
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
184
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Captains was a real surprise, from the friendly service to the great rooms, some with lovely baths and comfortable beds to the continental breakfast it certainly ticks many boxes.

Its located in the street running parallel to the main street so easy to walk to restaurants, take away places or the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My partner and I spent a long weekend at Captains at the Bay,staying in 'the bridge'.
On arriving we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who promptly had us checked in, and informed on all the things to do near by.
The room was just superb with the beautiful bath, large very comfy bed, and amazing bathroom.
I would definitely stay here again. The place was superb and close to the main drag, and is a great little romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Staying in 'The Bridge' is a great little romantic getaway for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked through lastminute.com the day before we were due to stay and were swayed by the reviews from Trip Advisor again. We arrived late and found clear and easy to follow instructions with a nice letter apologising for not welcoming us. The room (Bridge South West) is fantastic. The facilities are first class, the bath incredible and so hard to get out of. The mini bar a bit sparse but very reasonable. The $125 tarriff included a "free" bottle of bubbly or wine and a Continental breakfast. The choices at breakfast were many and varied and the pod coffee machines were a nice touch. The little touches like fresh milk in the fridge really set this place apart.
The guest laundry was a welcome addition. The staff recommended a restaurant for dinner (Casalingo - See reviews) and we also took advantage of the Apollo Bay Day Spa for a bit of pampering.
We originally intended to just stay one night but the ambience, comfort, style, staff and location (very quiet) invited us to stay one more night. The staff allowed us to stay in the same room, even though it was booked by another couple and upgraded the other couple to the more expensive cottage for the same rate, a nice compromise.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: North East and North West Bridge rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This small but friendly hotel is quite the pick when staying in Apollo Bay, the rooms are spacious, bathrooms new, huge shower and separate deep tub....so good when you have just driven 4 hours from Melbourne.

The entire complex is clean and rooms have a modern feel with large screen TV.

The staff are friendly and the breakfast is great for the price, with eggs made to order.

You get a lot of service for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A good place to stop on G.O.R. The standard rooms are fine and the breakfast good. Each room has its own parking spot and upgraded rooms are available for those who are travelling in style or marking an event. Walking distance to beach and a choice of restaurants for an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Captain's at the bay is located near to the main street, so we could get everything we needed in a walking distance. We stayed in "South East" room, which part of the beach can be seen from balcony. The room was spacious, clean and unique interior design! Breakfast and service was fantastic!

Room Tip: South west room will have a good scenery of night sky
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's At The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.