We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not run of the mill.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's At The Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's At The Bay to your Saves list
Captain's At The Bay
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Sussex UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not run of the mill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A good place to stop on G.O.R. The standard rooms are fine and the breakfast good. Each room has its own parking spot and upgraded rooms are available for those who are travelling in style or marking an event. Walking distance to beach and a choice of restaurants for an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    87
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
184
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Captain's at the bay is located near to the main street, so we could get everything we needed in a walking distance. We stayed in "South East" room, which part of the beach can be seen from balcony. The room was spacious, clean and unique interior design! Breakfast and service was fantastic!

Room Tip: South west room will have a good scenery of night sky
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cottage room. The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Location is great just one street back from the beach and central to everything in the main area of Apollo Bay. Would recommend staying here if you come to Apollo Bay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Captain's At The Bay is a great midway stop on the Great Ocean Rd. The location is fab being one street back from the beach so you can easily walk to all the restaurants in town. We stayed in the Nor East room which was upstairs and its was exactly as per the pictures on their website. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was ultra modern with a double vanity. We had a free standing bath in the main room which was wonderful for a luxurious soak after a long day on the road. A continental breakfast was also included and to our surprise this included eggs and bacon on toast. The staff were very welcoming and explained all the facilities well. Breakfast is served only between 8 and 9 which is a little unusual but it didn't bother us as we were off early the next day. We can also highly recommend Chilli Tapas just down the road for great Sangria and food... Very tasty..... We would recommend Captain's as a great place to stay in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay here on our trip along the great ocean road , we stayed in a bridge room which was excellent , very comfortable and well appointed .Check in was easy and Helen on reception gave us lots of advice .
We had a lovely balcony with great views , breakfast was fantastic and the staff are brilliant . Very friendly place and would thoroughly recommend it.
We visited the Otway National park and driving through we saw lots of Koalas in the trees which was amazing . We went to the lighthouse and the Otway Fly .
Our only problem is the bathroom light seemed to be on a timer so after a couple of minutes you were left showering in the dark and if you used the toilet in the middle of the night the light came on and lit up the whole room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed only one night on our trip along the GOR but wish we'd had time to stay longer. A beautiful boutique B&B with exceptional accommodation and fantastic friendly and efficient service. From the moment we drove up on a speculative enquiry the experience was fabulous. We had the last room (lucky us!) and stayed in Captain's Cottage - a beautiful room with a small patio area which captured the evening sun. If there is one down side it's the lack of wifi but don't let that put you off - there's free use of the laptops in the dining room.

Room Tip: Captain's Cottage was gorgeous but I'm sure they all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

From our initial welcome till the moment we left, the staff of this exceptional B&B looked after us well. We had booked there or three nights whilst touring the Great Ocean Road and Otway National Park, for which there cannot e anywhere more convenient. Our room was one of the Bridge rooms, which look out West towards the hills and each evening we watched the sunset from our spacious balcony. The room was exceptionally comfortable with full amenities including a gigantic bath about a metre and a half from the bed. On entering, this feature had a 'Wow Factor' but with the water shortage in Australia currently, we never had the disrespect to fill it, and the walk in shower with double spray heads was more than enough.

Breakfast was a wonderful meal with variety and the service was attentive throughout, even offering to book trip events when out and about. We were going to Otway Tree Walk and through these lovely people, the cost was 8 dollars cheaper. Captain's at the Bay specialises in providing their guests with superlative comfort and succeeds 100%

Room Tip: One of The Bridge rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's At The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.