We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop On The Great Ocean Rd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's At The Bay

Save Saved
You added Captain's At The Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stop On The Great Ocean Rd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Captain's At The Bay is a great midway stop on the Great Ocean Rd. The location is fab being one street back from the beach so you can easily walk to all the restaurants in town. We stayed in the Nor East room which was upstairs and its was exactly as per the pictures on their website. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was ultra modern with a double vanity. We had a free standing bath in the main room which was wonderful for a luxurious soak after a long day on the road. A continental breakfast was also included and to our surprise this included eggs and bacon on toast. The staff were very welcoming and explained all the facilities well. Breakfast is served only between 8 and 9 which is a little unusual but it didn't bother us as we were off early the next day. We can also highly recommend Chilli Tapas just down the road for great Sangria and food... Very tasty..... We would recommend Captain's as a great place to stay in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    81
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
169
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay here on our trip along the great ocean road , we stayed in a bridge room which was excellent , very comfortable and well appointed .Check in was easy and Helen on reception gave us lots of advice .
We had a lovely balcony with great views , breakfast was fantastic and the staff are brilliant . Very friendly place and would thoroughly recommend it.
We visited the Otway National park and driving through we saw lots of Koalas in the trees which was amazing . We went to the lighthouse and the Otway Fly .
Our only problem is the bathroom light seemed to be on a timer so after a couple of minutes you were left showering in the dark and if you used the toilet in the middle of the night the light came on and lit up the whole room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed only one night on our trip along the GOR but wish we'd had time to stay longer. A beautiful boutique B&B with exceptional accommodation and fantastic friendly and efficient service. From the moment we drove up on a speculative enquiry the experience was fabulous. We had the last room (lucky us!) and stayed in Captain's Cottage - a beautiful room with a small patio area which captured the evening sun. If there is one down side it's the lack of wifi but don't let that put you off - there's free use of the laptops in the dining room.

Room Tip: Captain's Cottage was gorgeous but I'm sure they all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

From our initial welcome till the moment we left, the staff of this exceptional B&B looked after us well. We had booked there or three nights whilst touring the Great Ocean Road and Otway National Park, for which there cannot e anywhere more convenient. Our room was one of the Bridge rooms, which look out West towards the hills and each evening we watched the sunset from our spacious balcony. The room was exceptionally comfortable with full amenities including a gigantic bath about a metre and a half from the bed. On entering, this feature had a 'Wow Factor' but with the water shortage in Australia currently, we never had the disrespect to fill it, and the walk in shower with double spray heads was more than enough.

Breakfast was a wonderful meal with variety and the service was attentive throughout, even offering to book trip events when out and about. We were going to Otway Tree Walk and through these lovely people, the cost was 8 dollars cheaper. Captain's at the Bay specialises in providing their guests with superlative comfort and succeeds 100%

Room Tip: One of The Bridge rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is hidden in the road behind the sea front on the Great Ocean Road. A very comfortable place to stay. On arrival we were very quickly booked in and Helen ( I think that is her name) gave us lots of good advice on what to see and where to go. Our room was very comfortable and well equipped. Don't miss out on the breakfast, you will not need to eat all day if you have the "Full Monty"! There is Free WiFi available in the dining room and an on site guest laundry room, vital when touring for a few weeks. Dont miss out on the wonderful little Staffie pup that hides outside the dining room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the newer "Romance Room" at the top of the stairs on upper level. Room is very spacious, clean and comfortable bed. Older establishment but recently refurbished with modern decor. Unusual bathroom arrangement with bath in the main area adjacent to the bed. Separate shower and twin basin area.
Stair to upper level are a bit steep and narrow.
Very friendly staff and great Continental Breakfast. (available only between 8.00 and 9.00am)
For dinner, try the Apollo Bay Hotel located in the main street.

Room Tip: Try for a upper level room facing the south for glimpses of the ocean. - We had the South East room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in the Top Deck which has three double bedrooms, the apartment itself also had a large lounge area and a large outside balcony space, great for small groups. We arrived late in the evening so there was no one on the reception but they had left all the details we would need for our stay which was very helpful. All rooms where very clean with nice comfy beds, continental breakfast was included in the room rate which was a great bonus.
The location of the property was right in the centre of Apollo Bay, just 5 mins walk to local restaurants and bars with the beach just across the road.
Would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's At The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.