We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cottage, modern and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's At The Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's At The Bay to your Saves list
Captain's At The Bay
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Cottage, modern and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The room was nice, clean and modern - everything to be expected. We had a comfortable stay. They have a few harsh rules, such as if you check out after 10am there will be a $70 per hour charge. The complimentary breakfast goes from 8-9am so if you are not an early riser you pretty much miss the boat. Our room was across from the supermarket and the garbage trucks come in early in the morning making a hell of a racket but of course this is not the hotels issue. There is no view of the bay on the ground floors and it is a street back from the beach. The hair dryer was faulty in our room and another was not forthcoming - but not a huge issue. No big complaints and happy that it is modern and refreshing - no 80's decor like some of the other stays along the way!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAS21ApolloBay, Owner at Captain's At The Bay, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thanks for your review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
But only if you told us the right room when you rang about your hair dryer.
You said you were in Captains Cottage, when in fact it was the Cottage.
We always carry spare Electrical equipment.
Happy Travelling.
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    103
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
229
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We did the Great Ocean Road drive last week and we picked Apollo Bay as a stop over. Our agent booked us with this place and its my personal best!

We have a nice clean huge room! The bathroom is spanking clean. The bed was so cozy where you don't feel like getting up in the morning.

After you been seated hot breakfast would be made fresh from the kitchen! Awesome! Cereals and others are ready on the table and topped up when its low.

Really enjoyed the stay here! If you happen to take the scenic drive on the GOR I would suggest you book this place. Rooms are limited ( I think ) so book ahead of time so you would be able to enjoy the experience...

Staffs are very friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay - our room overlooked the Bay, our beds were very comfortable, we were made very welcome, the place was clean and well equipped, staff and owner friendly and kind.

The included breakfast was a delight - hot food served quickly; the table was full (and continually refilled) with cold juices, tea, coffee etc along with cereals, toast, fruit - everything you would normally wish for.

My son stayed here two years ago on a visit to Australia and[thankfully] recommended it to my friends and I - I would recommend it to you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Simple but very good hotel, all rooms are in the grounds our room was excellent. Reception closes at 6pm but the laundry room is open 24hrs. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
451 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were very happy to be at this hotel. It was clean and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good and plentiful. There was also a cheap laundry on site (which we needed since we were on a long vacation and were running out of clean clothes). We would recommend this place very highly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice cosy place, quiet and in close proximity to beach and esplanade.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I on a four week tour of Australia from the UK. On arrival we had a lovely warm welcome from the girl on reception. We had terrace room 2 which was a gorgeous ground level room with a small terrace garden area outside. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with a lovely bathroom and walk in shower. Towels gorgeous and fluffy , with all the little extras you would expect from a luxury hotel.
Breakfast the next morning was cooked to order with cereals, yogurts, fruit, toast, tea and coffee there to help yourself.
In all a fabulous place, only wished we'd been ther longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
22.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waterfront Motor Inn
Waterfront Motor Inn
#1 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#4 of 33 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#1 of 20 in Apollo Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains at the Bay is a modern, well appointed Bed and Breakfast centrally located in the seaside village of Apollo Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's At The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.