We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Moore Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here during the 2nd week of January with our 4 month old twin girls. We booked an apartment on the 2nd floor. We were extremely happy with it. It was spacious, very clean & perfect for our needs. We also ordered breakfast which was delicious & well priced. The service was outstanding and staff were friendly & accommodating. A very well run family business. We would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloBayMotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Ange, Dan, Sophia & Olivia,
Thank you for your kind words, we are glad you had a lovely holiday. We work hard to ensure our guests have clean, comfortable accommodation and can enjoy their stay. The summer in Apollo Bay is terrific, especially for families, so you will have to return when the girls are mobile and can enjoy the beach, carnival and swimming pool more (the fun is just beginning for mum and dad). Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Regards

Elise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
22
51
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here over the NYE period. we were given a ground floor room which backs onto the street with people walking past at all hours shouting (we even heard 1 person vomiting right outside our bedroom window). we were kept awake nearly the whole night with drunken louts and noise from the fairground which was barely 50 metres away. and if that wasnt bad enough, on our 2nd night we were woken up at 7am by the bin men emptying bottles from the pub next door. awful experience and it ruined our time in apollo bay as we were so tired each day so we didnt really enjoy our sightseeing we had been so looking forward to. our friends stayed in the comfort inn a few doors down and paid much less than us, for a room which was far superior to ours.

Room Tip: avoid any room which is on the street side or on the pub side (or you will no doubt be woken up)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloBayMotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Sorry that you didn’t get any sleep, unfortunately, in the summer with the warm nights, it seems to encourage the town to stay out later and be a bit noisier. It is only Jan 20th, the big crowd has left, and the streets are quiet again.
Hope that you took the time to look around the beautiful area we have here and it encourages you to come back at a quieter time, not over Xmas New Break

Heather Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed for a night in the lovely Apollo Bay on our Great Ocean Road trip.

We booked in for a 2 night stay but decided to move on after a night, this was sorted quickly an easily at check-in; there was a cancellation fee of $40 but that was Best Western's terms not the motels.

We booked a queen room with an extra bed, purley as this was the cheapest on the BW website. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable equipped with a bathroom, mini, crockery and cutlery. No microwave but this was not an issue for us.

The room is motel style, with windows facing over the inner courtyard/ car park, we were able to park directly outside our room which was brilliant as we had 2 big bags. The motel is also very conveniently located for the rest of the town being just behind the main street.

There is a fair which sets up on the beachfront in January within earshot but that wraps up around 10.30 and it didn't disturb us.

The owners were very friendly and helpful and provided us with suggested activities for the few hours we were there in the afternoon. We ate across the road in the Italian restaurant which was also good.

Terry (?) the older owner, made a particular point of wishing us on our way which was a very nice touch. Would definately stay there again if staying for one to two nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloBayMotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip and got plenty of site seeing done.
It is a beautiful area and you should come back when you have more time to spend 3 or 4 days.




Heather Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I drove the Great Ocean Road, and if we could do it again, we'd probably use Apollo Bay as a home base instead of staying in a new town each night. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we ever redo this trip.

In planning our trip, our itinerary went through several edits. Originally, we had booked a queen room, cancelled it, and finally booked a second queen room (all through the Best Western website). When we arrived at the property, the clerk couldn't seem to find our second booking but played it cool the entire time. Eventually, he "upgraded" us to a one-bedroom apartment. We were delighted with the extra space (which was very welcome when we repacked our bags, and also when I wanted to watch some tv while my husband wanted to settle down into bed, since he could close the door and not be disturbed by the noise or the light).

When I finally did settle down, I was disturbed by some people (I theorize, based how I heard them carrying on) on their way home from the bar. I can't fault the hotel for that, but I can warn those who might be light sleepers or who end up with a room facing the street to pack earplugs.

Since we had a kitchen at our disposal, we bought provisions for breakfast and lunch for the next day so we were able to save some money on eating out.

The couple who run the property were the real gem of the stay, for us. After we arrived, we kept returning to the front office with various inquiries (for the key to the laundry room, for a dinner recommendation, for opinions about things to do, etc.). Each and every time we approached them, they were both warm and helpful and we were never made to feel as though we were bothering them, despite the repeat visits. Their kids are adorable, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloBayMotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Glad you had a good time and it was nice to meet you, hope that the rest of your trip was enjoyable.
Thanks for the feed back on the apartment we are very happy with them and must say most of our guests enjoy the extra space
Hope to see you back here sometime
Regards

Heather Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family and I stayed here recently for 1 night in a 2 bedroom apartment. The staff were friendly and the apartment was clean, but it was very basic and nothing special, and quite dated. I don't think the price was justified. The pool is very small and is in the middle of the car park so there isn't much privacy. Not quite as nice as it appears in the photo on the website! We have stayed at other seaside towns in Victoria in much nicer, more modern apartments with access to a beautiful pool and spa for a similar price. It was also quite noisy with the bottle shop/hotel next door loading lots of empty bottles into the bins early in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloBayMotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review about the Motel
The apartments were all renovated and refurnished 3 years ago and we believe offer good value. The pool is of adequate size for the motel and as it is available to all guests therefore the middle of the carpark is practical and gives our guests an area to relax and enjoy their stay. We are sorry about the noise from the Hotel this is out of our control although we have spoken to management (they assure us that they do not start work until after 7.30am)


Heather Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont Saint Peter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This motel is located in Apollo Bay which is a good place to stop if you are doing the Great Ocean Road in 2 days. We were upgraded to an apartment which was fine and had stuff for cooking if that's your thing. The rooms were clean and had recently had a lick of paint. There is a great Italian Restaurant opposite that is well worth visiting and we were impressed with the quality and quantity of food.
The lady at reception gave us some great tips of where to visit including where to spot 'hundreds of koala's' in the trees and she wasn't wrong!
This is a 'typical' roadmotel and does the job just fine.

Room Tip: Away from the road, we were woken up by a roadsweeping lorry at 6am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloBayMotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel
I am glad that you got to see the Koalas and all the other
beautiful things that the area has to offer
Maybe we will see you back here again some time – we look forward to it
Hope you enjoyed your anniversary


Heather Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. We had a clean and tidy one bedroom apartment so had plenty of room for our stuff and would have been able to cater for ourselves if we so desired but due to the hotels central location it was convenient to all the towns main eateries. Next time we travel in that direction will have no hesitation in staying there again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Go that little extra expense and book an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloBayMotel, Owner at BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to do this review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the local eateries- (only way to have a holiday) we certainly hope that you do come back as there is plenty to do and see in this beautiful area
We look forward to looking after you again


Heather Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments

Address: 2 Moore Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Apollo Bay Motel is the most conveniently located accommodation in Apollo Bay. There is plenty to see and do in the region; take a walk amongst the tree tops of Beech Forest at the Otway Fly Tree Top Walk, take a helicopter ride over the Twelve Apostles and Shipwreck Coast or catch your breath at the top of the Cape Otway Lighthouse. Best Western Apollo Bay Motel offers clean motel and apartment-style accommodation with reverse-cycle air conditioning, Austar cable TV and broadband wireless Internet access. This Apollo Bay motel’s additional facilities include a swimming pool, BBQ and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel And Apartments Great Ocean Road
Apollo Bay Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.