We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casual place for coffee or light meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wickens Delicatessen & Provedore - CLOSED

Wickens Delicatessen & Provedore
1/135-137 Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
+61 3 5237 1045
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: A Delicious Combination of Deli, Bakery and Café. Find a wide selection of specialty foods including Cheeses, Meats, Chutneys, Mustards, Pickles, Oils and House-Made Breads & CakesAward winning chef and owner Robin Wickens bakes everything in our open kitchen, fresh daily, using all organic highest quality ingredients. Wickens is the perfect place for your breakfast, coffee & lunch and take-home goodies. We also cater.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“casual place for coffee or light meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place is in the main street with tables inside and out.It is a casual place with good coffee and an interesting choice for breakfast,with home made crumpets served with local honey(very yummy )and lots of organic dishes.They have a small selection of cheeses and meats to take away.They are not cheap,but Apollo Bay is lacking if you want such things.There is free wifi ,which many people were taking advantage of.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    14
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Coffee not up to scratch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I ordered a total of four take-away coffees from here on two occasions in early January 2013. Both were OK, drinkable, but not what I was expecting from what appeared to be a very gourmet cafe/provedore. The barrista took ages to make the coffee both times (the cafe was not even busy) and seemed to have no system. She wasn't flustered, just seemed to be a bit vague and slow. What bothered me most was that both times she filled one cup a good 2cm (1 inch) short of the top. I watched her and she poured everything out of the milk jug but just didn't have enough milk in there ... twice!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

After our morning beach walk we'd swing by for a coffee during our fantastic 1 week stay in AB. The coffee maker is slow but that's not a problem when you're on holiday. The coffee is great and the wifi fast. Nice place with friendly staff.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food, friendly staff, great vibe, presentation of food very gourmet. The gourmet sugar condimants were also a nice touch for coffee and tea, very tasty... very unique. Enjoy

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“My daily coffee fix - fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I came here every morning for my take away daily coffee fix. Don't know what blend it was, but it was fantastic. My only criticism is the amount of time I needed to wait for it - however, the place had a nice feel so I didn't mind waiting - and it was the peak tourist time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickens Delicatessen & Provedore also viewed

Apollo Bay, Victoria
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickens Delicatessen & Provedore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.