We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe

Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe
119 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria, Australia
03 5237 6008
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 28 Restaurants in Apollo Bay
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

What great fish and chips....one of my favourite meals and this lot did not disappoint....fresh fish, just the right amount of chips, crispy light batter...well worth the stop :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    57
    20
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Purchased fish chips and dim sims oily and very basic fish size very small
Also got 6 pieces of calamari and tough as leather
Very disappointing half of if it got thrown out

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were intending to go to the 'local pub' for dinner, but as we walked by this store it looked clean and inviting.

We had the $18.00 special which consisted of two pieces of fish, two dim sims, two crab sticks, two potatoe cakes and a heap of fries.

We didn't eat the 'crab sticks' and left half the fries. Not because they didn't taste good.... just a few too many fries for us and we had never had 'crab sticks' before. We had plenty to eat for the two of us.

*extra note .... staff should be very aware of overseas travelers at all times. Especially along the Great Ocean Road area. Only in Victoria are 'potato cakes' called that and no one outside of Australia knows what 'flake' is, so please don't treat these people as idiots. You don't have to speak louder to be understood either!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Doing the Great Ocean Road, spending the night in Apollo Bay. The Apollo Bay Hotel offers a great family friendly venue, excellent reasonably price food and great service. I certainly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I thought the fish and chip were average. I mean, they are fine, maybe I was expecting much more. Felt that the seafood platter is better that the fish and chips.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe also viewed

 
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 

Been to Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.