We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the weary traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Motel and Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Motel and Apartments to your Saves list
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   15 Diana Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For the weary traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Arrived after starting our GOR trip.
Helpful reception who directed us to a super Italian restaurant a short walk away.
Clean and comfortable room if a little dated but totally adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks Rod & Linda for your review, yes Casalingo restaurant is a good eating spot. Thanks for mentioning cleanliness we try and make sure this is spot on as we are aware our motels rooms are older but they are also priced accordingly compared to other tariffs around town.
We trust you enjoyed your Aussie holiday.
Regards, Chris & Alison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    62
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
40
98
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here on our Great Ocean Road trip.
They were flexible, one week before the stay we shifted the date and add another person, so we were three person. We payed $145 for a room with a double and single bed. The room was clean and nice. We could use a free wifi. Reading other review we found out that the wifi is only available between 7am and 11pm. That explains the access problem in the night.

The staffs were really nice and helpful.

In the night we went to Melba Gully to see glow worms in the dark. Bring some torches if you want to visit this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks Martinmetal for your kind words, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and got to see some glow worms which can sometimes be difficult at the time of year you were here. We trust you enjoyed your Aussie holiday and look forward to seeing you again someday.
Regards,
Chris & Alison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My partner and I spent the night here during a Great Ocean Road trip. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Room was large and well priced - very clean and tidy. Quiet surrounds and easily accessible to town. Would be keen to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks Heath for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We too look forward to your return trip, thanks again.
Cheers, Alison & Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanzach, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

we booked this little place at the last minute. upon arrival staff greeted us warmly. the next morning they were helpful to give us a rundown of where to visit. unfortunatly that is where the positives stopped. the wifi service was expensive and could only be accessed between 7am and 11pm and it could't be accessed very well from the room we were in. We stayed on a fairly humid night so also noticed the lack of air con. The shower was also quite poor with really just a small amount coming out which had taken well over 5 minutes to heat up. the location however was great and the price was much lower than other places in town. thumbs up to the helpful staff as well, they were great!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi Martin,
thanks for your feedback and positive comments on our service. I note you have stated you stayed in January however we had free WIFI installed about two days before Christmas so I wish you had come and seen us for our password as I am not sure whose WIFI you were using if you had to pay? Also again we had new air conditioning installed in the motel rooms back in June seven months before your stay so I am guessing if you could not get the air con to work you may have had it set on the wrong mode. We also believe & have had many guests comment that the water pressure in Apollo Bay is great so again we are here to try and help so in the future please do come and see us as we may be able to fix the problem.
Thanks for commenting on the price, yes we agree we are one of the more reasonably priced accommodation places in town.
Thanks again for your review and we trust you enjoyed your Australian holiday.
Cheers, Chris & Alison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Perfect stopping point for a drive from Melbourne up the Great Ocean Road! As others mentioned, it is off the main road, so quiet area. It is actually on a residential street, so the other reviews are right- very quite area, but nice 5 minute walk to the shops and restarants! Very good price on a room with a spa, which was the only room left, but a nice, relaxing option. I was traveling from overseas, and really needed to Skype with family back home, but I had some issues with their internet service at the time. They were VERY helpful, and provided a very nice solution. Looking for a nice quite hotel, but near enough to the best things Apollo Bay has to offer? Then this is the place! If you appreciate personal & friendly customer service? Then this is REALLY the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Great review by an even better person, thanks for your kind words. Yes the location is good as we don't get the traffic noise from the main road but as you comment we are still only a short stroll away. We have also just installed new free WIFI just days before Christmas which is working a treat and guests love it so internet problems are now a thing of the past. Thanks again for your kind words, we try hard in this ever changing world to keep our guests happy.
Cheers,
Chris & Alison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight at this nice quiet motel. Was very late getting in, so took an apartment which was perfect for our needs. Owner gave us a better rate as we did not want to use the spa. Very accommodating indeed
. Would recommend

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hi, very happy to read your comments and that you enjoyed a quiet comfortable nights rest here at the Beachcomber. We look forward to one day visiting your country but for now we are happy to accommodate the many wonderful international guests (& Aussies) that visit the Great Ocean Road.
Regards, Alison & Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

$105 room small double but great for us. Very clean short walk to town, Laundry and use of microwave.Toaster kettle fridge in room. They let us check in an hour early which was helpful. Would stay again.

wild Koalas on the road down to cape otway

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLAApolloBay, Owner at Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review & your kind words. Yes cleanliness is important to us as we realise the budget rooms are smaller. Thanks also for noting that at $105 it is a reasonable price during the warmer months on the busy Great Ocean Road. Trust you enjoyed your Australian trip and hope you visit our wonderful country again someday.
Cheers,
Alison & Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterfront Motor Inn
Waterfront Motor Inn
#1 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Motel
Beachfront Motel
#6 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel and Apartments

Address: 15 Diana Street, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beachcomber Motel and Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Beachcomber Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Motel And Apartments Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Motel and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.