We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to camp or caravan with your dog” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marengo Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marengo Holiday Park to your Saves list
Marengo Holiday Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Off Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ballarat
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great spot to camp or caravan with your dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had 3 great days at this park and really loved the location, close to the beach either side of the park. You can rock walk or sand walk and the view across to Apollo Bay township is fabulous...
We had our dog with us and she too had fun time along the beach. A bit cold in the sea! For swimming but we did!! The amenities block from where we were was a long trip to and from but that's my only bad point. We shall be back. Thanks

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness centre can't get it off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    26
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
agnes water
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great rate for ocean view site $30!! park and amenities are very clean and staff are helpful and friendly. Short drive into town. Great beach access. Pet friendly is a bonus. Can highly recommend for travelers or families.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at Marengo Holiday Park in a campervan for one night. Requested a space with ocean views and sounds - to which were kindly granted. Powered site great value for money, clean facilities block and neat communal spaces. The team were very accommodating of our late arrival and a we were greeted with a very friendly farewell on our departure. Very handy for a walk or short drive into Apollo Bay for dinner.
Fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Could not ask for a better spot! Perfect beach location. Very very friendly and helpful management! Clean and very well kept. So close to Apolo Bay and many surounding attractions. Can't wait till next year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have never written a review but just felt i had to this time. I booked 5 months ago to get onto this camp site with my husband and two kids. I informed them we were bringing an 8 man tent and gazeebo so needed a big pitch on arrival I was waiting to be checked in. The man behind the desk was checking in two men and their familys and was telling them he wanted no trouble from them but in a very rude and patronising way. When it came to me he said before i could open my mouth i wont get any trouble from you will I !!! He then told me what pitch i was on and this was not the one we booked, when i questioned this he told me that is it and he is full and what was i expecting him to do, so we went round to the pitch but it was more like a walk through to the play ground. We went back to the owner and complained and asked if we could be moved but was told no and we could leave. I was not happy with this and when i tryed to complain he just said we could have a full refund and told us that we were off and would not be staying there. He gave us a refund and then without telling us charged to our credit card $20 cancellation fee WE DID NOT CANCELL !! I went down the road to the recreation reserve camp site and they were great, big pitch, clean and very nice and cheaper by $150.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo2001, Manager at Marengo Holiday Park, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We point out that the site allocated to this customer is sufficient in size for a caravan, annexe and car, and is 10 metres x 7 metres in dimention. The issue was that the tent was so large that there was not sufficient room to fit an additional Gazebo, and as we were fully booked were not able to transfer them to another site. In relation to the $20 fee, this was a deposit that was charged due to them not returning their boom gate card and no way related to a cancellation fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Marengo is really worth a few nights of bliss!! What a view.. right on the beach, you can admire the gorgeous sunsets and wake up to beautiful sunrises. The facilities are very clean and well maintained, especially the toilets and the camp kitchen which was spotless and featured a massive plasma television. The sites are well spaced and flat for a good night's sleep. Not a surprise that there were lots of people putting their heels in for the holidays! Even so, it was very quiet and relaxing.

We had arrived after 6pm, so the office was closed, but the lady we spoke to on the phone was very friendly and helpful. We left our money in the flowerpot the next morning as we left early!

Highly highly recommended- one of the best caravan parks we've had the pleasure of staying at!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this caravan park last week and wish we had booked a couple of night instead of just one. Our on site van overlooked the beautiful beach which was within walking distance and allowed us to take our dog walking, which is not always allowed. We had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, would certainly stay here again. it's always nice to speak to others who are traveling and find out places they have enjoyed, much more friendly than sitting in a hotel room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
2.6 mi away
BIG4 Apollo Bay Pisces Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Waterfront Motor Inn
Waterfront Motor Inn
#1 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
3.8 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#4 of 33 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marengo Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marengo Holiday Park

Address: Off Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marengo Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer fully self contained cabins with beach frontage. Linen provided for queen size bed, linen hire available for second bedroom. Deluxe cabins have the choice of either ocean views or spa bath and gas log fire. All cabins have access to free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marengo Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marengo Holiday Park Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marengo Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.