We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vista

The Vista
155 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
03 5237 7188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 30 Restaurants in Apollo Bay
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Accomodating and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

As a group of seven, we rolled up to The Vista on a Sturday evening and saw it was of course, full. However, the staff did everything they could to accomodate us, and within 15 minutes we were sat looking at menus. The food was well prepared and served with a smile. The total bill was maybe a little bit on the high side, but all in all, pretty good value given the circumstances. Would definitely visit again next time we are in Apollo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    61
    32
    24
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst experience of the Great Ocean Road”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place looked promising but it was such a disappointment. The server, doing the best he could, was in over his head with too many tables. The atmosphere was tense because everyone was mad about waiting so long to put in their order or to be served their food.

We waited so long to put in our order and even longer to get our food. The manager offered to bring by garlic bread due to our long wait but we had to remind him and the bread didn't arrive until well after the rest of our meal. We gave it up to another table who had been waiting even longer than we had.

The food was average, at best. The seafood linguini was nothing more than noodles and a bit of seafood. There was no flavoring. The other dishes we ordered were pretty ordinary and basically not at all worth the wait. It was clear that the chefs were in over their head as well.

By 7PM the restaurant was out of oysters, calamari, and pork belly. The manager's excuse was that they had more orders of seafood platters than anticipated. Quite a gaffe for a seafood restaurant in my opinion. There were huge apologies made as we paid but no offers were made to discount our meal.

Service and food was so disappointing, especially at the prices they charge. Next time I will order a cheap pizza from down the road rather than deal with this frustrating and disappointing experience again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very well situated in Apollo Bay, definitely not to be missed if you are in town.
The food was amazing, with a crab and lobster ravioli started that is out of this world.
The mains were fresh so was the seafood and the deserts exquisite.
Value for money was great, with a great decor and warm feel to the place.
The service was great, friendly and accommodating staff.
If you want gourmet food at reasonable price definitely try this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Platter to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just had the seafood platter for two. Wow. Everything was so fresh and as advised by the waiter it would be completely adequate without entrees. The service was professional yet friendly with good knowledge. Keep up the great work and we will see you soon for round 2.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food. Good atmosphere. Needs just a touch better service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I was not disappointed with the food. Really good oysters and my partner had the linguini and I had the salmon. Both tasty and enjoyable.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vista also viewed

Apollo Bay, Victoria
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 

Been to The Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.