We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel Marengo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel Marengo to your Saves list
Motel Marengo
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   26-28 Great Ocean Road | Marengo, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE $$$$
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Little gem in perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our recent stay here at hotel Marengo! It's great value for money and for the position it's in was worth every penny! It's not near the crowded tourist area, yet 5 min walk to the most beautiful beach and 2 min drive to the main street. Basically you've got great clean rooms with plenty of space ( and most comfy beds!), the use of a fantastic outdoor bbq area and a great outdoor pool with a heated spa bath ( and do remember this motel only has 10 rooms so never crowded!) It also counts that all the staff were lovely and always helped ( was stormy most of the time we were there but James advised us with lots of fun adventures to go on!) Will definitely return!

Room Tip: I loved our room ( number 10) for it looks over the pool and is opposite the BBQ area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    48
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
51
41
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Reception was very friendly and informative giving us recommendations on what to visit on the next leg of our journey. The rooms were clean, of reasonable size, well fitted out making the motel real value for money in its class. Our room was the closest to the highway (Great Ocean Road) but wasn't bothered by any traffic noise. Free WiFi link was relatively fast. Only downside was it was a bit remote from Apollo Bay, but not much of an issue as car parking in Apollo Bay was easy when we visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is my second stay at Motel Marengo and the place just keeps getting better!
For the price you pay you get a huge 2 room motel room with bathroom and it even has a small kitchen with a microwave (no oven or cooktop though).
The bathrooms are small but the one in our room had been updated and now has a pull out shower door instead of the old concertina one and there is a bigger sink and new toilet too.
The pool was a bit cold for September but the spa was nice and hot to relax in after we went for a 3hr bushwalk.
Dont miss feeding the birds either. The guy at the reception desk came out and gave us bird seed to hand feed them and at one time I had a bird on either hand eating seed right out of my palm!
Cant wait till my next weekend away in Apollo bay - great cheap place to stay, and amazing food at the big bakery in town and Chill restaurant for sangria and tapas!

Room Tip: I think they are all the same size so it just depends what bed layout you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. We only stayed for 1 night but could have easily stayed much longer. The quad room had everything we needed and the service was above average. Thank you for a lovely stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Weary from a long, cold and mostly rainy day travelling from Melbourne along the Great Ocean Road, we were hopeful that our overnight accommodation would be warm and comfortable. We were certainly not disappointed. We received a warm welcome and a very insightful run through of the local area and recommendations for our onward travel (he gave us some great tips!). We got into our rooms to find them toasty warm and very clean, spacious and with a well equipped kitchenette. The beds were very comfortable. We were in luck. We popped in to Apollo Bay (5 minutes down the road) for some dinner and returned to spend the evening sat at our dining table in the kitchenette playing one of the many games they have on offer. It was a fantastic place to stay and one that I am 100% sure we will return to in the future but for perhaps longer.

Room Tip: The reception closes at 9pm and many of the places in Apollo Bay also close a little early so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked this motel for my stay in apollo bay whilst travelling the great ocean road as we are travelling on a budget. I was very happy with the room, it was easy to find and the staff were very kind and helpful. Apollo bay is very cold in the winter and has alot of rainfall so i was happy to see that when i arrived the heater had already been put on for me and we had electric blankets on the beds!! Other things that made this place stand out for us during our Aus holiday were the ammount of tv channels and in particular movie channels we had in the room and there was a wide selection of board games in reception to borrow free of charge and they were suprisingly up to date. The room was a comfortable size and well equipt with microwave, kettle, toaster etc (no cooker) but most importantly for us budget travellers FREE WIFI. Overall i was very happy with this motel and would recommend to anyone passing that way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were a group of 7 so as you can imagine finding accommodation on a budget was quite a challange. However we found this place caters really well to small groups. We booked 3 different room types meaning everyone had their own bed. The only gripe was that the bathroom had to be accessed via the 2nd bedroom but as friends sharing we didnt mind putting up with it just for 1 night. It would be very well suited for families.

The place was nothing fancy, but it was very clean and functional. One highlight there were the parrots that arrive each morning. We were also quite lucky in the fact a koala had wandered into the garden the day we checked in!

It was a short drive into town (not really walking distance, especially if its raining) but we had 2 designated drivers so were ok. There are some benefits of taking your wife on holiday after all!!

Room Tip: The triple and Quad rooms help bring down the cost of travelling in a small group. All rooms seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
1.9 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
23.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
1.7 mi away
Waterfront Motor Inn
Waterfront Motor Inn
#1 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Marengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Marengo

Address: 26-28 Great Ocean Road | Marengo, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Marengo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Marengo is a small independent family owned and run motel set back in a quiet area of Apollo Bay, but still maintaining easy access for guests with its Great Ocean Road location. The motel offers comfortable well equipped 1 and 2 bedroom suites, sleeping 2 to 5 guests. All the units contain Kitchenette's with fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery adjacent to a dining area. The property boasts a lush tropical pool area with heated spa nearby to a BBQ / Picnic area and an abundance of colourful native birds.Other inclusions at the hotel are as follows :- FREE Foxtel Cable TV (platinum) package with over 100 channels including complimentary Movie channels and Sports channels- FREE Wifi - complimentary printing of tickets and important documents- FREE Wetsuit Hire and Body Boards (Beach is located 3 minutes walk)- FREE Board games for any rainy days during your stay- FREE DVD Library (*DVD player surcharge $10 for entire stay)- FREE guest BBQ ....And lastly but we think most importantly...we can give you FREE tourist advice to let you know what the highlights of the area are, the nicest walks, the biggest waterfalls, where to spot wildlife, the best viewing points for sunset and sunrise. We can also provide you with local maps at no extra charge, and having toured the local area extensively ourselves we can also offer advice on other areas you maybe intending to visit after your stay in Apollo Bay to make sure you make the most of your time in this beautiful region of ours.Your hosts, James & Andy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel Marengo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Marengo Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel Marengo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.