We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service! !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Motor Inn to your Saves list
Waterfront Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   173 Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
1 review
“Great service! !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Clean and service with a smile. Highly recommended.
Got told of surrounding restaurants and asked about our trip plans so they could help us with any directions.

Clean and service with a smile. Highly recommended.
Got told of surrounding restaurants and asked about our trip plans so they could help us with any directions.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApollobayWaterfront, Manager at Waterfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you for the great review and recommendation. We do try to ensure our guests have as much information as they want so they can make the most of their holiday in this beautiful part of the world. We hope you enjoyed your restaurant visits too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    169
    32
    2
    0
See reviews for
128
291
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

These guys are Friendly and helpful, have informative staff, electric blankets, spa, great location, just across from the beach and only down the road from the restaurant/pub yeah I'll definitely be back. Oh and free milk :)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApollobayWaterfront, Manager at Waterfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
It sounds like we ticked a few boxes for you! Thanks for the very positive review and we're glad to hear our friendly, helpful staff, ideal location and room amenities met your needs. We look forward to seeing you again at the Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We loved our short stay at Waterfront Motor Inn in Apollo bay. Our only regret is that we didn't schedule to stay two (or more nights). Would love to return to this place and stay here again some day. Highly recommend this motel, and Apollo Bay is the perfect town to stay in and break your journey if doing GOR.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApollobayWaterfront, Manager at Waterfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
It's great to know you enjoyed your stay so much that you would like it to have been longer! We'd be very happy to welcome you back to the Waterfront for an extended visit. There are a lot of beautiful attractions within close proximity of Apollo Bay so it is easy to find plenty to do over a slightly longer holiday. Thanks for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Lovely blue themed room, everything necessary was provided - cups, plates, wifi, toiletries, etc, even some milk to get us started.
We arrived after reception was closed but the owner was kind enough to provide clear information to direct us to our room without having to trouble anyone.
Superb stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApollobayWaterfront, Manager at Waterfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Many of our rooms have been repainted and redecorated recently so it's lovely to hear positive comments about the decor. We're also glad to know everything you needed was supplied and you found our late check-in procedure easy to follow. Thanks for taking the time to post a review of the Waterfront, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed in Apartment 1. It was conveniently located at the back which was nice & quiet & especially with 2 noisy little boys it suited us well. We were greeted by a lovely, cheerful lady at check-in, who explained everything. As soon as I opened the door to apartment 1, I was pleasantly surprised with the space & cleanliness of the room. Two good sized bedrooms that were neat & tidy. A good size kitchen with everything you needed, a good size family room, & a clean bathroom. It was a very comfortable place to stay for 2 nights. If I was to be picky, we found there was no hot water in the kitchen & it took a while for the hot water to come through in the bathroom & shower. It would have been good if there was a detachable shower hose & the tap in the bathroom was perhaps a little too big for the size of the sink. Shops, cafes, restaurants, parks & beach was walking distance. Love our stay here & would probably come back again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApollobayWaterfront, Manager at Waterfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thanks for your very detailed review. We really appreciate getting thoughtful feedback from our guests. We're pleased you found the apartment so comfortable and suitable for a family stay. We hope you mentioned your concerns with the hot water supply while you were here? We encourage our guests to let us know promptly if there are any problems. The hot water does actually work in the kitchen but, due to the siting of the tank, it takes 3-5 minutes to heat up after turning the tap on which is not as quick as we would like it to be. You might be pleased to hear it's on our 'to do' list for improvements! Hopefully, if you return, you will be pleasantly surprised!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

From the moment I walked into reception i knew i had made the right choice. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable regarding the motel,services in town, restaurants etc. it only got better from there.. Our room, located in front of motel, upstairs (1 flight) was absolutely gorgeous...very roomy, light and airy. The facilities in the room were great, spa, cooking facilities, microwave etc, we even had our own coffee machine, with pods, a very pleasant surprise. Standing on The balcony we had uninterrupted views of the ocean, which is directly across the road from motel.listening to the waves crashing at night added to the whole beachside experience.
I would highly recommend this motel to anyone who likes class and luxury at a very reasonable price. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for upstairs at the front.. You wont regret it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApollobayWaterfront, Manager at Waterfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Waterfront and appreciated the beautiful seaside location. We agree, there is nothing quite like falling asleep to the sounds of the ocean and waking to a beautiful sunrise over the water is pretty special too! We're pleased you liked the various amenities provided in your ocean view room and found our staff so helpful and informative as well. Hopefully we do get to welcome you back to Apollo Bay at some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Travelling the Great Ocean Road, this is an absolute gem of a hotel for a stop over. We were travelling late as there is so much to see on route, so phoned ahead and the folks left the key for pick up at reception. Stayed in the two-bed apartment, which was really clean and tidy with good cooking facilities. Couple of restaurants nearby, plus supermarket. So had a great but all too brief stop over, if you are travelling that way, then stop looking and book it, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Two Bed Apartment in rear annexe to property - Great for family groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApollobayWaterfront, Manager at Waterfront Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our apartments so much. You are right, there is so much to see along the Great Ocean Road! It is not unusual for travellers to arrive later than they expect in Apollo Bay and we do try to accommodate those late check-ins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Motor Inn

Address: 173 Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfront Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Motor Hotel Apollo Bay
Waterfront Hotel Apollo Bay
Waterfront Motor Inn Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.