We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 Night Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   511 Brooker Highway | Hobart, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Glenorchy
Certificate of Excellence
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A 5 Night Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

At the end of our Tasmanian holiday we booked for five nights.
The room was one of the refurbished suites and it was excellent. It would have to be one of the best value rooms in any Australian Capital city at $119 P.N.
Even though Glenorchy is about 5 kms from the Hobart CBD, it is a pretty quick trip in a car on the Brooker Highway, although I am not so sure how good public transport is in Hobart, as there are no suburban trains and buses may make the trip a little long.
A great feature is the free high speed wi fi, and clean rooms. The shower head was the best of any hotel I have stayed in Australia.
We did not eat in the restaurant as we had friends in Hobart and either went to their home our out to eat with them most days.
The one disappointment was that the room did not have a micro wave or toaster.
The car park was bit of a lottery to find other vehicles, especially tour coaches taking up the spaces.
Overall I would recommend it to others and return myself.

Room Tip: Request a room well away from the restaurant and highway. We had smells and noise due to our room be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It was very pleasing to know that you were happy with your stay at our property. We take pride in our cleanliness and facilities, the staff and myself try to exceed the guests expectations and hope to see you again when next in Hobart.

Regards,
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    38
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
44
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
brisbane australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location only a short drive to the city the staff were friendly and helpful. The motel was clean and quiet, I feel this motel offers great value for money and we would stay here again if ever back in Hobart.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
It was lovely meeting you on your recent stay and thank you so much for your kind words. We would love to see you again when back in Hobart and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Regards,
Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A surprise package for us, our first stay at a Motor Inn.
Wow what a refreshing warm experience, such a difference from the large Motels we usually choose.
Nothing against the larger Motels but their staff are trained to be super efficient and polite with just the required amount of emotion...
Not here, everyone has a genuine smile, and a happy helpful attitude, the staff are not all 21 year olds and their life experience is an asset.
We were surprised by the quality of the room, equal to the 5 star rooms of the larger Motels, pristine clean, king bed, generous sized room, beautifully furnished, free internet, NO road noise.
As my friend was unwell we ordered room service from their restaurant, another surprise, equal to the best restaurants in Hobart...
Another surprise, all this for half the price we usually pay for accommodation.
A surprise experience, you will not be disappointed ...
Jac and Tim

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you so much for the very kind words you expressed in your review of our Motel. We very much try to make the guests stay a memorable and enjoyable one and treat every guest as we would like to be treated. We are very lucky our staff are nearly all long term and they enjoy their job and we enjoy them working for us. Again I am so pleased you enjoyed your staff and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is by far the best overall accommodation venue we have stayed at in Hobart.
Situated just a 6 minute drive from our family in Claremont, our room was perfect.
There was no road noise, and THE BALMORAL is located right on the Brooker Highway.
We parked right outside our door (Number 8) on the ground floor, and under cover!
We were upgraded to a king bed room, everything is lovely and modern, decent sized TV,
all the luxuries to make us feel at home. The staff are friendly and efficient, their Restaurant prices look tremendous, and we will try the Restaurant on our next stay!
Nothing was any trouble, staff were ready to assist in any way they could.
The latest shower system and walk in shower were perfect. .Well done at THE BALMORAL!!

Room Tip: Ground floor for sure, definitely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting both of you and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Hobart.
Regards,
Jean and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclean NSW
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This may not be the newest motel in Hobart but it is one of the nicest places to stay. Being out at Glenorchy it is very quiet, all rooms have the usual TV, coffee and tea facilities (a nice little welcome biscuit as well) an ensuite with a great shower and plenty of water pressure which is a very nice bonus.

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights while we did some touring of the area. Most importantly we were there on Christmas Day (2013). The motel is clean and if you happen to notice something that is not as it should be, they'll fix it, immediately and I mean immediately.

The restaurant, while small is excellent a very intimate dining experience with superb hosts that are well in control of everything. Christmas dinner (lunch) was one of the best I have ever
had aside from my mothers cooking. The room was exquisitely decorated with Christmas decorations as well, I mention this because I wish to express just how much these people attend to detail.

Internet is freely available from the guests utility room and at a small charge, there is a washing machine and dryer with soap powder available for guests as well.

If you are looking for resort style accommodation this is not it but if you are looking for a comfortably clean stay with absolutely excellent meals then this motel is where you should be. You will enjoy your stay and it will not cost you the earth.

Room Tip: If you're touring then this is the place for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words you wrote in your review of your stay with us. We all (staff and management) work very hard to make the guest have best experience possible. Hopefully we will see you again in the future and our best wishes for 2014

Regards.
Jean and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here because there wasn't anywhere value for money in Hobart, but had an excellent stay and was glad we found it. Food was good, staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and rooms were warm and cosy, including nice big bed, tv, sofa and chairs etc. definitely a good spot for a night if you are passing through, or don't mind staying 10 mins drive out of Hobart City centre.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M, Owner at BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I hope we can see you again when back in Hobart.

Regards,
Jean and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Pros:

Cost was very reasonable at around $80 a night
Extremely great staff; they made us very comfortable and helped out with pointing out local attractions
Close to the city and restaurants and other attractions
Mostly clean and spacious room, but I doubt they clean the bathroom very much as I could see some hair from day 1 till we checked out 3 days later
We even got free breakfast vouchers which was a bonus during checkin
Cost of liquor in mini bar was cheaper than buying from a shop!!! (First time I've seen this in my life -- kudos!)

Cons:

Food was good, but cost was a big letdown because the 1 course was $25 per person. Considering that you could upgrade breakfast from continental to cooked for $9.50, this seemed pricey considering that you could go to a nearby restaurant and 2 people can eat for the same price

Overall great place that we'll stay again when we travel to Hobart, but unless food is priced less we'll continue to eat out!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenorchy
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hobart
BEST WESTERN Hobart
#21 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#5 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
2.3 mi away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#11 of 47 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn

Address: 511 Brooker Highway | Hobart, Glenorchy, Tasmania 7010, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Glenorchy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Glenorchy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenorchy
Glenorchy Best Western
BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn Glenorchy, Tasmania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Balmoral Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.