We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a delight it was to stay in such a beautiful part of our heritage!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowerbank Mill B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bowerbank Mill B&B to your Saves list
Bowerbank Mill B&B
4455 Meander Valley Road, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 8 Deloraine B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! What a delight it was to stay in such a beautiful part of our heritage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Thank you so very, very much to Anne from Bowerbank Mill B&B, we had an truly beautiful time in your lovingly restored heritage home! Deloraine is such a great base for so many sights in this area of Tasmania, but it's a glorious little town to visit anyway! We found the history of the mill so inspiring - our pioneers were truly brave and dedicated people. The love and hard work that has obviously gone into the restoration of this beautiful old mill is a shining testament to the owner's passion for history too. The gallery, gardens and very close proximity to the riverside township, Deloraine are added bonus features of this fine spot. We loved the way each of the cottages was presented so well around a specific theme and can recommend the 'Chimney Cottage' to all! Breakfast was a real treat too. What more can I say...you'll all just have to go and see it for yourselves! Lea & Rod

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    31
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
75
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

Beautiful location and surroundings...... Bowerbank is honestly the best b&b I have ever experienced - gorgeous historical themed rooms - comfortable and cozy... Service was way beyond imaginable with personal touches and professional service.. So lovely to meet Anne!! Thank you so much... Will definitely stay again and recommend... Clare and Rick Tasmania

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

A great historical property restored beautifully ,with love and passion. Anne, our hostess, was knowledgeable about the history and the local attractions and was helpful to the max. The food was fantastic and the special touches of homemade jams, made from fruit trees on the property, were a treat- not to mention the home made date loaf and port and chokkies we came home to after touring around the countryside.
A great stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Our stay at Bowerbank Mill was everything we had hoped it would be - owner Anne was an absolute pleasure, with amazing attention to detail and personal service. All in all a great place to stay in beautiful Deloraine. We'll definately be back - thanks Anne. PS - you've got to ask for the rhubarb for breakfast......!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

In March this year, I travelled to Tasmania with my husband and brother for a week long holiday. We spent two nights at Bowerbank Mill, near Deloraine, which exceeded our expectations. We loved the country location and the view over fields with cows. We stayed in the MIller's Suite above the gallery, with it's amazing collection of antique furniture, ornaments and bookshelves. The four poster bed had delightful bed linen...very romantic... and Anne, the owner, could not have been more hospitable. We were welcomed at the door with lots of enthusiasm and Anne proceeded to recommend and book restaurants for us and to show us proudly around the Mill, the tall chimney and to talk about the history of the place. We were even fortunate to be shown her family pictures and to be told about some of her relatives, which added to the warmth and personality of the place. An added treat was the port and cheese in the evening and the breakfasts, served by Anne in our little dining area, were divine.....several home made jams,alongside cereals and croissants or breads, tea and coffee and a fruit compote (also home made) hit the spot. When she discovered we loved France, Anne left a DVD about Paris for us to watch and greeted us each day in French!
We love characterful places and Bowerbank MIll, with Anne at the helm, could not be faulted. Thanks to Anne we visited Liffey Falls, which was one of the highlights for me.....gorgeous waterfall within a rain forest...nature at its most sublime. Deloraine is also a charming small town and we managed to see a platypus in the local Meander River, thanks to Anne's instructions.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

This old flour mill is superbly restored and full of interesting furniture and decor. The owner has great knowledge of the mill's history, and recounts some fascinating tales. Beds are comfortable, and breakfasts delicious - well worth a stay (and lots of things to do in the surrounding area).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Bowerbank Mill is a wonderful B&B - it has been beautifully restored and is full of interesting knickknacks and antique furniture. The hosts, Anne and JD are friendly and welcoming, and extremely passionate about this beautiful old building. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the beds very comfortable and warm. We especially liked the vases of flowers everywhere! The breakfasts were delicious, and were the best we had on our trip - delicious yoghurt and raspberry compote! Bowerbank Mill looked great on the web site, and was even better in real life!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowerbank Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowerbank Mill B&B

Address: 4455 Meander Valley Road, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Deloraine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Deloraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where magnificent Mountains & Wilderness meet the picturesque Meander Valley is the iconic 1853 Bowerbank Mill. Today offering world class B&B accommodation with colonial ambiance. Charming décor in period antiques, plus modern comforts & genuine hospitality. Stunning S/C Cottages & Suites(two and 3 bedrooms). Gourmet continental breakfast. A perfect base for exploring Northern Tasmania. Close to the Coast, Cradle Mountain, Wild Life Parks, Bush Walking, Tamar Wineries and more. 30 minutes to Launceston & Devonport Airports/ferry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Bowerbank Mill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowerbank Mill B&B Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowerbank Mill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.